Sikkim


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Sikkim
January 19th 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

For the first timer India can be rough. So I decided to take it slow. After Darjeeling I headed north towards Sikkim to do some trekking and get to know this remote part of the Himalayas. After a couple of days in Gangtok I headed to the Western part of Sikkim to complete what they call the Monastic Trek. Unfortunately the Weather was not the best so I had no views of Kangchendzonga at all, but this fact didn't stop me to walk up and down the hillsides. The most charming of Sikkim is its people and I have been lucky to get to know some of them. I have been invited to a kitchen to see how a 15 years old boy prepares the Thali with his 10 years old Sous Chef( Indian staple food same as the Daal Bhat in Nepal), and I have met some very friendly people. Wherever I went I was greated with a loud Namaste ( here no shouting of "Give me Pen, Give me sweets, Give me Rupee" followed like in Nepal) and pretty much everybody asked me where I was coming from and what was my name, and generaly wanted to talk to me even if their English was limited to only those two questions. : )
Sikkim is a beautiful place and I could not stop wonder about how beautiful could be if the Weather would cooperate.Nevertheless I hope that you will enjoy the pics I took along the way : 0 )

India előszörre nagy falat lehet, s sokan vannak kiknek megakadt a torkukon. az elmúlt 6 hónapban rengeteg rémtörténetet hallottam e hatalmas országról, s őszintén szólva ez az első ország melyet fenntartással fogadok, s úgy gondoltam csak óvatosan kezdem. Darjeeling után ( mely a vérbeli tapasztalt utazók szerint nem is India) Sikkim felé tartottam, hogy megismerkedjek ezzel az eldugott részével a Himalájának. Pár napot Gangtokban töltöttem, majd úgy döntöttem körbejárom a környéket gyalog. Sajnos itt az időjárás nem igazán kedvezett, (nem panaszkodom, mivel Tibetben, Bhutánban, az Everesten remek időm volt😊)) így a híres panorámából semmit sem láttam, no de láttam én már elég hegyet mostanában, s ez nem lohasztotta le a kedvem. Sikkim igazi értéke a lakossága, és első ízben kipróbálhattam a vendégszeretetüket. be lettem invitálva egy konyhába és megtanulhattam egy 15 éves fiútól és a 10 éves Sous Chef-hétöl hogyan készül a Thali ( a Daal Bhat indiai változata) és rengeteg barátságos emberrel találkoztam. Mindenki tudni akarta honnan jöttem és mi a nevem és hangos Namaste-vel köszöntöttek mindenfele. ( itt nem jött a Namaste után a Give me Rupee, Give me sweets -adj pénzt, adj édességet-, mint Nepálban, de ez gondolom annak köszönhető, hogy nincs annyi turista)
Sikkim egy gyönyörű hely és nem tudtam megállni, hogy ne képzeljem, el milyen gyönyörű lenne a komor felhők nélkül a napsütésben.
Remélem, tetszenek majd a fotók; 0 )




Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb