Rowan Cycles India!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan
March 1st 2010
Published: February 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Rowan being chased by tiger - an artists impressionRowan being chased by tiger - an artists impressionRowan being chased by tiger - an artists impression

Please note, despite the astounding realness of this photo, it is indeed an artist’s impression. I was not chased by a rare, swimming white tiger 20 x my size.
Hello.

Thank you for taking time to read my blog. For those that know me well this is all I have talked about for the last 5 months and I fear that when this challenge is over I will have very little to talk about. Mute I may be, but it does mean that if I am able to utter a word of intelligent conversation, it might be more varied than talking about how I will wear my sari, what I will eat and how HARD it will be to cycle 300 miles through Rajasthan (“thank god”, I hear you sigh). Below is a little vignette of my cycle through India.... (please note at this very moment in time I have yet to cycle through India, hence a rather 'sparse blog').

Day 1: London to Delhi

Day 2: Delhi

Day 3: Taj Mahal
Transfer by Shatabdi express train (approx 2hrs) to Agra.

Day 4: Taj Mahal to Fatephur Sikri - 50km approx / 4-5hrs
Start cycle from the Taj Mahal and head towards Fatephur Sikri.

Day 5: Fatephur Sikri to Keoladeo Ghana National Park - 40km approx / 4-5hrs

Day 6: Keoladeo Ghana National Park to Karauli - 120km approx / 7-8hrs
Overnight in Maharaja’s Palace.

Day 7: Karauli to Ranthambore National Park - 105km approx / 7 -8 hrs
Overnight in luxury tented camp & guesthouse.

Day 8: Ranthambore National Park to Bhanderej - 70km approx / 5-6hrs

Day 9: Bhanderej to Jaipur - 80km / 5-6hrs
We will then celebrate the completion of our challenge and amazing ride through India, with a Rajasthani Party, with traditional banquet, folk music and dancing at the Maharajas Old Palace.

Day 10: Delhi to London


Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb