Udaipur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Udaipur
September 24th 2005
Published: October 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The overnight bus was not so bad namely because I insisted on seat number 1 which meant there was no one in front of me to recline into me. There was a bit of a mix up during the bus switch in Jodhpur as someone else had seat #1 on their ticket but I was having none of that.

I passed time showing the bus drivers' assistant my photos before I caught a few hours of sleep before we hit Udaipur at 5:30am. I tagged along with two Korean girls on the bus to a non Lonely Planet hotel named Minerva. I turned out to be fantastic and only $5 per night for a sweet room with clean, large en suite. I caught some zzzzz's and woke around noon. I immediately set out to wander the city. I came across two kids and they invited me into their home. I took photos of the entire family and promised to bring them back copies (as they had no email). Before the sun set that day, I kept my promise and brought them some nice 4x6 glossy photos. It was as if I was Santa on Christmas day. The family was incredibly thrilled and once again invited me to sit with them. This time I declined as I wanted to get to a high roof top to see the sun set.

The next few days I spent with two Israeli girls I met. We took in the sights, visited an India Disco (which was filled with all guys and one asked me to dance), took a boat ride on the lake and rented a car with driver to see the Khumbalgar fort.

Off to Delhi next before heading south to Goa.



Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Walk on WaterWalk on Water
Walk on Water

Kids appear to walk on water in the lake
Family PhotoFamily Photo
Family Photo

After photographing their kids, the family invited me in, fed me, and then posed for a full family shot. I then printed the photo in city and returned it to them.
SharpeningSharpening
Sharpening

Man uses wheel to sharpen scissors
Golum JobGolum Job
Golum Job

These round donough-hole like pastries are floating in a maple-syrup like fluid which soaks into them. They are deeeelicous!
Local DressingLocal Dressing
Local Dressing

Maya, Tella and I went looking for a nightclub (which turned out to be filled with only Indian men) and I posed for a photo outside with this beautiful Indian woman. Either my red-eye feature is not working or I had the devil in me for this photo!
Maya and YealMaya and Yeal
Maya and Yeal

Hamming it up for the camera.


Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 28; qc: 153; dbt: 0.1279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.4mb