from pushkar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
August 4th 2006
Published: August 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Yes we are still here..... On our last day we signed up for some yoga classes. I have by the way been doing a bit of groin tearing stretches recently and a book on yoga inspired me in Udaipur.So with me moaning about the money etc, Emilia prevailed and we signed up fpr three days of yoga classes.
Rather unfortunately, recently we have both fallen ill. Most probably a viral thing because Emilia' is better and I am just starting to get the first symptoms.
There is nothing much to see in Pushkar if you have not had a spiritual awakening -- the real one that is -- sell your stuff , give away your money and insurance policies and live in Nepal kind of spirituality.
I have however been painting the town red on my motorized scooter, the traffic is chaotic and anything goes but after a while one gets the hang of it ( touch wood ) I have even been taking Emilia on the back -- reluctantly. I feel like "the ultimate Indian adventurer" when I scoot past saucer eyed tourists with my shades on , showing off my moves - which basically involves not being a sticker on some bus tyre.
My closest call was with emilia when we almost drove into a camel !!

Pushkar was "flooded' today, I may be exaggerating somewhat but perhaps as my story unfolds you shall see it from my perspective.
Our first yoga class was this morning at eight and since Emilia was ill I left the hotel with an umbrella, shorts and flip flops. As I walked the three kilometers to the yoga class I has this feeling telling me to go back, but as any dopamine challanged person I persevered stubbornly.

The main road was completely flooded and the water rose up to mid calf and was DEFINATELY not clean, clear rain water. Bits of shit, rubbish and most probably even body parts brushed against my legs.
In the middle of the road I noticed that the periphery of road was relatively dry so, quite stupidly I left the well beaten path and crossed the left side of the road.

Suddenly I was up to my neck in water and I banged my shin against something underneath, I thought I had broken it. I crawled out took a step and fell into a deeper one ( I'm exaggerating here -- not quite deeper ) but I did manage to now smash my other shin. I cleverly though from here on end it was better to crawl, which I did much to the amusement of some children that I promptly felt like drowning.

Anyway so sore legs and all, our yoga was postponed until this afternoon. I 'm still recovering from the excercise and hope to God I do not experience the microbiolological tour of India.

Rob

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb