India #3...Can it get more annoying?!?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
September 9th 2007
Published: September 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

ADam and I have been trying, desperately, to try to see the bright side of the trash heap that is India. We came here with high hopes, but most have them have been trampled by beggars, con-men, autorickshaw drivers, and whole bunch of other bullshit. It hasn't been all bad. In fact, towns like Udaipur gave us quite a lot of hope. We drempt that the 'incredible' India that people, and the Indian tourist board, talk about would lie just around the corner. Nope...

***Puskar***
We went to Pushkar and were pushed around by a hoard of pseudo holymen gangsters. They said,"you must take a flower and throw it in the lake. It brings my family good luck." I knew this was a total lie and that he was wanting to somehow screw me out of money. So, I refused the flower with a thanks but no thanks. He started yelling at me and told me that the lake was, "this no trash pile!" and then he told me to, "get out here!" What an asshole! ADam and I had to sneak around the other side in order to get a good view of what was a very pretty little 'holy' lake. Also, we were constantly followed by musician beggars. They followed us around playing the local instrument...badly. We again said, "no thanks." And again the result was no good. He simply ignored us anfollowed us around playing and begging. After 10 minutes of torture he finally relented. So, this was our experience in Holy Pushkar. It may not be other people's experience, but...

***Jaipur***
This was a bustling city of 2 million. We came here chiefly to see the Hawa Mahal and Jantur Mantur. The Hawa Mahal was under construction, and so it was kind of a no go. Jantur Mantur is a giant astrological center. Nancy and Ronald Reagan would wet themselves over this place. It was a twisted mass of angles pointing out towards the sky. It too was under construction, but I it was still nice.

***Udaipur...a return***
After the last log I spent ,more time in Udaipur. I sat around with a couple from New Zealand that was having similar experiences. They said, "a lot of them (Indians) seem to see us as walking ATMs" I couldn't agree more. To be fair, I also sat with a nice, elderly Inian fellow and talked with him for hours. We talked politics, life, and wahtever came to mind. He was a good guy.


Well that's about all...keep those comments rolling in...

I'm in Agra right now (about 100m) from the Taj Mahal. Maybe the Taj can work some of its magic.

Mike and ADam


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



10th September 2007

walking ATM
Yep, it can be very easy to get that feeling... It pissed me off a lot in Egypt..so I had a think and came up with...well, if Bill Gates happened to wandering around some parts of our own countries he would soon be saying "good lord, where is my wallet" or "ok, ok, ok, just don't shoot" Think of it as people who are too polite to mug you.
10th September 2007

Good and bad things...about A Dam and Mike
A Dam's suntan looks great! Mike's beard looks...well, so-so. Keep up the complaining. It's fun to read. Better than phony tourist brochures.
10th September 2007

looks like i'm gonna pass on India then. what a bummer
10th September 2007

trip
Keep enjoying these unique experiences. Give Sehwa my email address. I miss her and still think of her kindness to me when I was in Korea.
13th September 2007

Dance Monkey
How could you leave that story out of your blog? It nearly made my piss myself.
2nd October 2007

Hey
What's the latest Mike n' Adam ? India might have taken a bit outa both of you but don't clag just yet. Are you in Nepal yet ? I wanna hear about how you dodge the Commies this time........... Hopefully you get some great photos from Nepal and I can check em' out over a few beers with you two here in Bangkok. Peter

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb