Pushkar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
December 9th 2006
Published: December 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Drum playingDrum playingDrum playing

People playing drums (Tabla)
I left Jaipur yesterday and travelled on two buses to get to Pushkar, a little town in the desert. Much nicer than all those big city's - I feel as though I can breath!
It is set round a small lake with various hills around with numerous temples on top. I think I will stop here for a while 😊
I went for a walk yesterday and planted myself on the egde of the waters watching the sunset. Within minutes more and more people kept turning up, as many westerners as Indians, juggling, doing circus tricks, playing musical instruments, beggers, people selling stuff, priests, animals. Then a team of drummers came up and started playing and this man with a head and face of grey hair starts going CRAZY to the music, dancing everywhere, up and down the steps, it really was something... One of the Indian girls said that he's a French man, has lived in Pushkar for 9 years and has smoked too much. What a crazy place! I have taken a video which I hope will work 😊
Although it is very touristy it is nice and I feel safe. Especially in the family run guest-house that I
Circus tricksCircus tricksCircus tricks

One of the many people juggling.
am in...
Walked up to a temple on one of the mountains, walking on rocks and sand that crunches under your feet real desert land.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Circus tricksCircus tricks
Circus tricks

More jugglers just after sunset.
French man.French man.
French man.

This is the man from France that has been in Pushkar for a while and dances to the drums every evening until the sun goes down!
Sun down scene.Sun down scene.
Sun down scene.

Some more of the sun down scene. Sorry about the shocking lighting on the whole.
Sun down scene.Sun down scene.
Sun down scene.

Bad focus, could have been a nice picture.
Walking through the desert.Walking through the desert.
Walking through the desert.

On the way to the temple.
The temple.The temple.
The temple.

Temple on top of hill.
ViewView
View

View from the temple. If you can see the stadium type thing that is where they hold camel racing at the Pushkar camel fair in November. The vast desert to the right would be full of camels and tents!
Pushkar lakePushkar lake
Pushkar lake

That is Pushkar lake in the middle.
Guesthouse.Guesthouse.
Guesthouse.

I am staying pretty much bangsmack in the middle of the picture.
TempleTemple
Temple

Looking around the temple.
MeMe
Me

Me by the temple.
I love this...I love this...
I love this...

This was 'Baked Potatoes with beans'. Wow! It actually tasted very similar..!
Gypsy girl.Gypsy girl.
Gypsy girl.

Me and a gypsy girl.
Pushkar LakePushkar Lake
Pushkar Lake

Pushkar Lake in the morning.


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb