First days in Jodhpur


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

May 30th (I wrote this a few days ago, but this is the first day I've gotten internet! I hope to write a new entry soon as so much has happened since sunday 😊

Namaste!

I know I arrived here yesterday, but it already feels like so long! I’ve met my fellow interns and they are all awesome. Everyone has some story or crazy experience, and is really friendly and ready to learn about Jodhpur. Our orientation has consisted of shopping, eating, learning Hindi, drinking, dancing, swimming (in the only pool in Jodhpur, the existence of which Gabriel considers a crime in the desert) and discussing about our expectations about the program. Last night at a club/bar (one of two in all of Jodhpur) I met my director and host at Sambhali Trust. Apparently, the NGO also has a guest-house that they placed me in. This is because the program director requested that FSD’s interns be placed in the building for a full emersion experience. I’m not really convinced that is a great idea for me, I like the idea of a home stay away from work. Smita and Gabriel, the FSD coordinators, have been very helpful and willing to accommodate my requests, and we decided to switch me to a home-stay close to my work. I can’t wait to meet my new family!

Today I went to a meeting at Sambhali Trust, which was about four hours long, with 10 Indian women working for Sambhali Trust, two volunteers and the director. We discussed the progression of projects and difficulties faced among the girls that come to Sambhali Trust for schooling. There were some amazing stories about women who graduated and what they are now doing, and how much their lives have changed from a male-dominated, meek lifestyle to dragging street men to the police because of inappropriate harassment. The oldest women at the meeting told about a widow that had joined with Sambhali women’s group, and had gotten a sowing machine. She lived far out in the desert, and her house had no electricity, so she petitioned the women’s group to install electricity. Her entire family thinks its inappropriate for a widow to take such initiative, yet she is the one who is bringing electricity to this remote home in the desert. Imagine the kind of chutzpa that takes!
One of the amazing things, to me, is that all this is taking place in like boiling weather - even hotter in the desert. This morning it was 110 degrees at 9 in the morning! The sun grew stronger over the day, and few places have air conditioning (and if they do, it’s a cooler, which blows cold air but is never strong enough to actually condition an entire room, so you only feel it if you’re sitting in front of it). I’ve been drinking an insane amount of water and wearing long pants and sleeves to protect my skin.

I guess I hadn’t really contemplated the fact that this environment is more extreme in the summer than any other heat I’ve experienced. The second day felt much more bearable even though it was hotter; I’m adjusting to the constant state of sweat pretty quickly. The food situation, however, completely justifies the heat in my mind - its totally delicious! Every thing I put in my mouth, along with a little anxiety of what it actually is, fills my taste buds with delicious spices. We’ve been eating at some high end places, and the food is so cheap! We ordered ridiculously rich meal last night, and each person paid 2000 ruppees, which is a lot here, and translates to about 4 dollars (plus FSD paid for it!)

Now on to a new day! I miss you all and hope to hear from you.

Yours,

Ariel

Advertisement



1st June 2010

Great to hear
Sounds like you are already immersed in the culture of the place. The heat sounds difficult to bear, but you are right that after a while you will become more used to it. The food sounds delicious, I wish i could try it. Let us know where you end up staying. Love, Dad
1st June 2010

You are AWESOME!
Hi Kiddo! Wow, I am so in awe of you and your sister. You guys are both living incredibly rich and exciting lives, reaching out to help others (turtles included) in every nook of the planet. Knowing what you are doing fills my heart with so much pride. Get yourself some salt tablets if you can, sweating and drinking all that water depletes your electrolytes. Sending you much love from across the globe. Always, E

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb