Third time's most definitely not a charm


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
December 11th 2005
Published: December 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

A visit to the railway station was in order this morning, so that I'd definitely have a ticket out of here tomorrow. The train doesn't have 2AC on it, so I had to go for AC Chair, which is cheaper and I believe resembles the inside of an aeroplane. The reservations counter was the usual anything-goes, but there were only a couple of people in front of me. A lady did try to push in just as I was about to get served, but the ticket seller waved her away and brought me forward. So only one breach of queuing etiquette was encountered - in Jodhpur, of all places, I'd have expected at least a pair of breeches.

My internal compass then decided to go haywire (actually its normal state) so the short cut I intended taking to the Internet cafe turned out to be completely off course. During the course of this trek, I received my third unwanted present from a pigeon in three days - quite a big 'un, but not sloppy. I'm not sure what the significance of all this is. I haven't had a similar bird incident for years, and it's not as though the inhabitants of Jodhpur all wander around with a coating of gunk on their clothes, so there must be some reason why I've been especially targetted.

The evening wasn't busy at the rooftop cafe, so I ended up spending a lot of time chatting with Ashok and one of his Nepalese colleagues Suresh. Suresh knows a lot of English words, but seems to pick them out of his brain randomly, and I haven't quite figured out the mental leaps to connect them into a coherent sentence. He also seems to be stuck on a volume of 1 decibel, so I constantly had to strain my ears to hear his seemingly encoded statements. After I'd finished my dinner, he presented me with a scrap of paper that he'd clearly laboured long and hard over - to summarise in (English) English, it said that he was pleased to have had the chance to chat with me and hoped to see me again in the future. Which was fine, except that the thing started of with a large picture of a heart containing the words "I love Zon". This seemed to be an excessive display of emotion from someone who'd merely served me a few chapatis. I will assume that something got lost (or gained) in translation.


Advertisement



13th December 2005

goodluck
I was once in Jodhpur that told the anointing by the birds is a good luck sigh.
14th December 2005

Zon and Suresh!
Hi John! Still in Jodpur I see!!! Say hi to Suresh for as he seems to be your better half for the duration!!!! Folks back here keep asking about you.
14th December 2005

Re: chenderson: goodluck
I've heard the same thing, so after 3 consecutive hits I was expecting some seriously good luck. It has yet to appear ...
18th December 2005

A little present.
Exactly what happened to me in Rome, 3 times in one day and one straight into my ice cream. Still its supposed to be good luck.

Tot: 0.486s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 36; qc: 157; dbt: 0.4004s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb