Off to LA


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
October 9th 2005
Published: October 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Departing West Palm for Boca Raton. My sister (from the Navy Ball) will give me a ride to the Jet Blue Terminal at Ft Lauderdale International Airport...5 am. This will begin days and days of Jet Lag!

"Why India?" It was purely intuitive. I was checking links on the site, craniocean.com and saw myss.com on it. i checked out the myss link and saw the news about a trip to India in 5 star hotels. It seemed a nice way to go...but before I knew it, intuition said to go. The feeling of intuition (even if a voice) is very different from the voice(s) of the brain of logic and reason. I put down a modest deposit but didn't have money for the rest of the trip. Then...a client gave me a five thousand dollar tip. What was I to do with all that exta money? At the moment, I thought India.

Also...from intuition I 'Heard" I could only go on the trip if I came back right away. This bummed me out. I'd heard of others spending months there. It seemed the thing to do when one goes to India. When the five thousand dollar tip showed up, I recalled that if I went, I would have to come back right away. Thus has one heard from intution.

Advertisement



18th January 2006

Carolyn and the carpet baggers!
Thanks James I checked out your blog - nice! I have listened to Carolyn Myss quite a few times - and enjoyed to hear her take on things...an original thinker Her taking 400 women to Egypt sort of blends one of my worst nightmares and something that could be genuinely interesting....I mean I have traveled a hell of a lot - I have lived in 12 countries in the last twelve years! - and I don't do coach tours well - nothing makes me feel more like a tourist than being in a coach - and I prefer to travel not to "tourist"! If you get my drift. I guess what she does caters to a population of "new age" American women who like to travel in comfort and numbers...and hopefully it leads them down healing tracks... I was not born in the USA - but I lived for many years. I think of myself as a human - because I can't stand the idea of being wed to any country - they are all just too fucked up for that! :) I have noticed though that Americans like sameness...I am sure all cultures do. But America made it an international brand - a Holiday Inn in Milwaukee and Madras are basically the same creature...When you can wake up in the same surroundings no matter where you are - maybe you feel a little safer...I am not really sure why there is such an urge to make this bland, brand of sameness in corporate hotels....but it is a clear trend...MTV, Sesame Street, coffee and bacon are there wherever you go....Kind of sad in some ways...but understandable too as technology takes man's consciousness towards a more global footing... However - the subtle depths of our cultural heritage can be covered over by superficial escapism - and that is a very real concern - and I imagine "Carolyn Tours INC" try and look for the common mythological motifs of ancient cultures and our own - and how that all ties into the psychospiritual vehicle we are all walking around in/as...I imagine - she is on to something - but my hunch is that what one gets in the end is a little watered down and cliched - maybe I am wrong...Clearly though she is a good businesswoman and more power to her for that! At the same time - like you perhaps - I am always wary of healers who jump on the salesman's wagon and pedal things...America leads the world in this activity - though by the sounds of things your muslim carpet sellers are catching up! - by selling itself the idea that EVERYTHING can be bought...Spiritual insight included...! Hah!

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb