India - Contrast or Contradiction?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
January 8th 2007
Published: January 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ghandinagah MarketsGhandinagah MarketsGhandinagah Markets

I have enjoyed becoming part of local culture, and Indian culture for that matter and buying my daily fruit and veg needs at the local market.
My India travels and experiences have come to an end. My memories and perplexions will continue timeless.

As I farewelled my Indian family at Ahmedebad train station, I boarded the Rhajdani overnight express. Tears flowed as I waved them bye. The world of family and their intense union and unconditional pride and love contradicted so amany emotions I have felt about the Indian continent. The world inside the family unit, inside the protective walls of their home was a contrast and contradiction to the world outside. My joyous and positive experiences have almost all included members of this family as we ventured about India.

As I close this Indian chapter for at least the present time being, and swiftly make my way to Singapore I will take so many life changing memories with me. I hope that I have been able to leave a small part of me, an Australian in India, of which was embrasive, positive and a hope that life will evolve for the betterment for future generations and for the environment and land of India.






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Sri Satya Sai BabaSri Satya Sai Baba
Sri Satya Sai Baba

A wall mural in a home that I visited. Of all the Swami's it is Sai Baba that I know most about through a Brisbane connection. I felt somewhat connected to that person for a moment in quiet contemplation over this picture.
Farewell GajnendrajiFarewell Gajnendraji
Farewell Gajnendraji

I said farewell to Gajendraji and his Ambassador for the last time at New Delhi International Airport.


Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 5; ; mem: 1.1mb