bus trip from hell


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
July 23rd 2006
Published: July 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Only to my worst enemy would I recommend a public bus from Jaisalmer to Mount Abu -- and even then I would rush in with amends.
We have just arrived in Mount Abu where we have been assalted by mosquitoes the size of butterflies. Tired, sweaty from the journey we are awaiting our rooms which will be available at 9 am ---- it is now 6 am.
After a panic stricken search and application of bug repellant we are now sitting in the hotel "internt cafe" nursing our mozzie bites and awaiting the side effects of LIBERAL application of Diethyltoluamide.
I feel like I have not washed in two weeks and I thought that I was used to being awake at night from all the night shifts I did, but clearly I have never attempted staying awake on a 15 hour bus journey.

I could have slept but the very feel of the bus seats made me sit bolt upright and wide awake.
Our first bus had a tyre blowout and our second bus lacked oxygen. The highlights were the rest stops, despite us being in the back of th bus we were the first out, cigarette, chai tea, piss, stretch and oh shit here we go again --- endless .
Our first bus dropped us off in Jodphur, havng been told that we merely needed to switch busses we hopefully looked around for one --- only rickshaws and dark alleys, not a bus in sight, this is at midnight.
We speak english, we hear rajastani/hindi/God knows. People are shouting at us, we are gesticulating and shouting back. The situation looks hopeless as the only bus ( the one that dropped us so unceremoniously) pulls away.
We are left in the lions den, where blood flows hot and rupees evaporate fast. The rickshaw drivers move in for the kill.

One needs faith in God at times like these( which I did not have ) and if it was not for a rickshaw driver our arses would now be located at some budget Jodphur hell hole.

anyway hopefully we can get some sleep today and more about mount abu later.

Rob





Advertisement



23rd July 2006

Just testing
Just sent long comment which hasn't appeared, so this is a test! xxxxxx

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb