The Road to Jaisalmer


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
March 10th 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We managed to hitch a 7 hour ride with Dave’s mate Omi, his pretend girlfriend and his taxi friend Mr Chan to Jaisalmer! Now after nearly a week in India and so many near misses in transit we had done extremely well to avoid any crashes on the road (apart from me on my bike!). Our car a 25 year old Ambassador was built like a tank. Half way up a mountain in Jodhpur, the law of averages was about to be proven! I’m just glad I was in the Ambassador as there was a tiny scratch and the other vehicle was wrecked.

Nobody was hurt, I’m not sure what actually happened or whose fault it was, but Mr Chan Immediately jumped out of the car and bullied the other driver to the point of tears and made him accept responsibility for the crash. Mr Chan took 300 rupees for the damage done and we were on our way again.

We stopped off for a drink and Omi came back with some super strength beer, we all had a bottle including the driver. A couple of road kills later the driver opened a bottle of rum, and drank half of it within 5minutes then I started to worry. Omi who was clearly drunk decided to take the wheel. Once he started the engine and Mr Chan was giving instructions on how to drive we relised Omi hadn’t actually driven before. After about five near misses in as many minutes both Dave and I convinced him to let me drive.

Now after driving my little Punto for the past few years it was completely different driving experience. I managed to get the tank up to 105km p/h before the car started to shake and I thought I better slow down. It was a relief when we eventually arrived at Jaisamler

Apparently before today nobody else had driven his car for 25 years, he was so impressed with my driving that every minute or so for the remainder of the day/night he shook my hand and told me “Tony… nobody drive my car…. 25 years… you good man… very good man” It seems I have a new best friend, worryingly he even reserved a seat for me, next to him for the evening meal.

Dave

The Road to Jaisalmer; alright peeps we ve just been on the road again with my mate omi, his pretend irish bird, lucy and the driver mr chan( a look alike of the one with the tash in hale and pace). Tony has talked about the crash, but I just wanna add about the other driver. Now when it happened you’ve got to remember that this dudes car was totalled while ours needed a quick paint job. So he wont have been to happy about that. But our driver, mr chan(his name was Jackie, get it??), who is about 14 stone and easily the biggest Indian we ve seen, jumps out of the car and starts havin a massive go at this little guy. Now if he didn’t crap himself then, he definitely did when me and tony got out of the car! I felt so sorry for him. But no one was hurt so that’s the main thing.



Advertisement



10th March 2006

things i don't want to read
having read the latest instalment, i am glad i'm not there to witness these events! however we're glad you are having a great time!! be careful out there!!! luv mum and dad lube and vic xxxx
14th March 2006

Alright there lads, sorry i didnt make the leaving doo, im sure it was a blinder. well dave im sat in aftercall just mincing around on tuesday morning. it was sleeting this morning, its grey, miserable (like Me) and there is 62 calls in the queue. you are in a better place and DONT COME HOME. maybe i will see you in NZ next year! stay safe lads and keep updating this blog its easys my pain in life. ha ha joe xxxx
14th March 2006

Where are the photos?
Hi Guys it sounds like you are having a famtastic time, gay as it may be! I might be being thick but I can not see any of your photos. Can you point me in the right direction. Keep up with the good work Dunphy
14th March 2006

everybodys missing you!
hey dave (and tony of course) hope all is well, i'm very amused at everything, and i hope your having a great time and loving india (!) davie everyone's missing you at work and wishing we were there too, take care sweet! sydrah and azra x
18th March 2006

latest scores
west brom 1 united 2 saha 2 5 points clear of scousers and agame in hand no ccance of catchin us sorry tony city 0 wigan 1 city nearer relegation than euro qualification. anyway its great seein your pics an readin about your travels michael palin beware,keep em comin lads. both take care daves old fella xxxx
19th March 2006

duncan gudhuw
allright u pair of freaks,i put a comment on this thing about a week ago and its not on it now must ave been sensored by some ~?*! .Anyway how r thngs on u r side of the world ? all is well ere in london ,dave dont shave ur head son u look like u r in a concentration camp during the war and start eating more pot noodles u look really skinny on those photos ,big t keep an eye on him mate.Really wish i was out there with u 2! looks wicked ,ive lost my phone so the next time u leave a comment give us u r number .speak soon lads and remember dont be gay !!!!!!!
22nd March 2006

I thought New York was bad for traffic!
Tony, Dave: Looks like you two are having a top laugh out there. I'm sure envious of the cheapness out there - sounds like paradise to me. Dave: not sure how you get away with comparing the Taj Mahal to OT, but have it your way. Antonio: that driving by Omi sounds worse than me in Italy - at least that's where I reckon you must have got the practice from that impressed Mr 'Jackie' Chan so much. Table for two, Mr Tony? Oo-err. Keep up the good blogging - leave no detail out! Murphy.
24th March 2006

Hey good looking guys (espically the tall one!), intresting read i'm going to India myself soon, your blog as made me look forward to it even more :) Thanks Gem xxx

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb