Falling for Jaisalmer.....Moving on to Mumbai


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jaisalmer
December 12th 2005
Published: December 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone! Elli here...

You should see a couple of entries all at once, as soon as I get a faster internet connection. I really want to have the pictures up with these journals, and the current connection is too slow.

I had intended to leave here yesterday morning, but Shahi Palace and Jaisalmer are too beautiful to leave so quickly. So I've changed my plan a little bit, and I'll be going through Ahmenabad by bus and train enroute to Mumbai (Bombay). My sleeper bus leaves tonight at 5:30.

Yesterday I went with Tracy, who is from Australia to a textile shop and picked up some things like wall hangings, table clothes and pillow covers. That morning we had gone to the bank machine to get some shopping money. The power goes out here in Jaisalmer between 10 and 2 everyday, and we were in a rush to get there, so we got a lift with one of the brothers from Shahi Palace. I didn't know that three people could fit on one motorcycle! Since then I have seen as many as five people (3 adults and 2 kids) on one motorcycle.

Then we wandered the tiny streets of the fort together. I picked up a few gifts and a pair of white pants that are trimmed with material taken from old sarees. We had lunch at a small place run by a very shriviled old lady, and chatted with two Australian girls who were there. After a bit more shopping, we headed back to Shahi Palace. The sun was burning extra red as it set around 5:30.

I had a one hour massage for 400 rupees, from a middle aged Indian woman. A word of caution if anyone else tries one of these - when they say "full body massage" they mean FULL body. Then Tracy, Gareth and I had dinner on the roof top. I started feeling sick, with a sore throat, and I went to bed a little early.

When I woke this morning, my throat was still very sore, and I was pretty achy. Shortly there after, the toilet and I became pretty well aquainted. After about 1 and a half hours I felt a little better, and headed up to the roof for a bit of green tea. I have yet to eat today, as I still feel terrible.

So, I lounged around, reading and chatting. I helped Jora and Dev and Swaroop decide where to put some new furniture in some of the rooms, and chatted with Jora about his ideas for additions to the hotel. I went back to the textile place and paid for the shipping, and to the post office for stamps (but the line was far too long). I rode with Dev on the motorbike, and he made a quick stop at his home to pick up his lunch!

I spent some time this afternoon drawing an idea out for Jora, preparing postcards, and now I am here, typing away and getting ready to jump on that bus to Ammenabad.

I'm sad to leave, but this is the kind of place to come back to again and again.

Bye from Jaisalmer!
~Elli

Advertisement



12th December 2005

Parasites and Pictures
Hey Elli - great journal - it is like we are there with you. Watch out for parasites - remember you cannot see them! But India has some great ones!!! Like your pictures also. Take care

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb