Dehli tour and Bikaner (apologies if there is missing d's this keyboard doesnt like the letter 'd' much


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Bikaner
March 20th 2012
Published: March 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Internet is sooooo verrry slooowww here so this might just be a quick one!

Delhi tour was good! saw some cool stuff and because it was a sunday I got to see everyone relaxing amn playing cricket aroun India gate which was cool. Missed out on a couple of places but maybe i'll get to see them on way before back home. Will hopefully get some pics up of both Delhi and Bikaner when I'm at a place with faster internet.

Have been in Bikaner yest and today. I stayed in the larllgargh (or something like that) palace which was very posh! Although my room didnt have a window...Anyway got some good pics of that. Went to visit Jungoner Fort (again i suspect spelt incorrectly) which has the most beautiful sumputous palace interiors.

I got some clothes made at the tailors (Very annoyingly no changing room and one pair of trousers is large enough for a rhinosaurous). Also went round the old town, saw some beautiful havelis ( heavily decorated buildings) and an amazing Jain temple where the concrete was made from ghee instead of water, and it is the only jain temple to be decorated on the inside with paintings. I had a sort-of guide for this town, a local who has decided to be my friend and has actually made me a bit uncomfortable at points but i have put this down to cultural differences and have try to be open minded. He took me to an art school, where someone painted a minature elephant on my fingernail, and he took me to a fabric warehouse to see all the beautiful fabrics India (and Bikaner in particular) is famous for at source, where the manafacturers and designers come to buy material. I also went to see a bollywood movie! Which was suprisingly easy to follow despite being 99% hindi. Maybe because it ha stolen its plot from a hollywood movie (cant remember the one but a man tells the same story of how he and and his wife met - to his wife- who has alzeimers u only find out they are the couple in the story when she remembers at the end- then she promptly forgets again).

Anyway good day. Only problem now is getting rid of Robin- (the friend-come guide) who is attempting to tag along to Jaisalmer with me. I have made it very clear this would be inappropriate and I am in a committed relationship... I hope I dont have to tell him to **** off after all he has been a great guide. What makes me most uncomfortable is that he's obviously pretty loaded, but claims not to work (his father is rich...) but then his friend works in tourism, and he was more knowledgeable by far about Bikaner than i am about Peterborough! I would rather he is lying and does work in tourism than the other alternative that only crossed my mind today- drug dealer? Everyone in the city seems to know him- very strange...


Other interesting things in Bikaner include getting electricuted! Yes actually eletricuted, by a lampost with with wires all hanging out...last time i dont look where im putting my hands! and so far still managed to avoid getting sick, though i have eaten street food lots of times now!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb