We've arrived


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I've spent the past two days awake, cursing Lariam. I hadn't slept a wink between my second day in Ireland and our arrival in India. Both nights (and several plane rides) were spent visualizing black dots, white pillows, jumping sheep, relaxing days on the beach, etc. None of it worked. Finally, I watched a Sandra Bullock romantic comedy in the middle of the night on the plane to Delhi, started crying, and continued crying for the next two hours. Then I arrived in Delhi and slept for 6 hours, so maybe it was just stress.

The good news is that I befriended a non-shady chick from Udaipur on the plane, and she's going to be our hostess when we visit. Cha-ching.

Delhi is fine. A dirty city. I didn't expect much from Delhi, so I'm at peace with what it is. We went to the National Museum today, and only after touring its dinky offerings did we realize that we didn't have our hotel address with us. Oops. The first day is very educational. We got ripped off by a tuk-tuk driver, took the subway, wound up in the big train station, hit up an internet cafe, and Googled our way home. Yes, it was lame of us to make the mistake, but we covered a lot of ground in our search for a solution. Kate got her boob grabbed too, which was hot.

I'm please to be traveling with a blonde and a redhead. Sucks for them, but means I get to blend into the background.

The kids are most impressive. Very savvy. They spot the whitey, grab a younger sibling, and start waving away. Lots of them use tactics that are more cute than charming. Ask me if they're still charming in a few weeks, and I might have a different opinion, but right now I think they're smart.

Next up: The Red Fort, Humayun's Tomb, and Connaught Circle (to replace Kate's luggage, which was ripped by the airline).

I can't wait to get out of the city though. I actually read the guide book on the plane, and I think it's going to be fantab.

Oh, and most importantly, I am happy with the food. Best garlic naan ever tonight.

This blog sucks, but as I said, I'm short on sleep. Better stuff to come, including pictures. Kate is on it.

Advertisement



21st September 2006

blog is not sucky
Great first India post. I need photos of these kids though.
22nd September 2006

excedrin pm
sorry to hear that your flight(s) were crappy. it sucks to have to resort to taking pills, but sometimes it's needed. i say take either 2 excedrin pm or 2 benadryl and that should knock you out for a decent plane ride. can't wait to see some pictures! lame question, but how's the weather? xoxo allyson

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb