It's true … Delhi traffic is worse than Cairo


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
April 18th 2013
Published: April 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Journey So Far


Following the most straightforward trip through security I have ever encountered, we were met at Gate 5 at Delhi Airport by Mr Mantosh from The Leprosy Mission at around 23:20 Indian time. Walking to the car park Andrew and I were attempting and failing to reality check. It was only when we hit the Delhi highway that it all became very real.



Top Gear has taught us both many things; not just that James May is a legend of a man and that Jeremy Clarkson is quite like my Dad, but that the death rate in India is some 500,000 people a year. I had always said that I couldn't imagine any roads being worse than El Horeya in Alexandria or the streets of down-town Cairo however I will hold my hands up and say that I was wrong. Delhi is a mass of tuk-tuks going the wrong way, taxis pulling across four lanes of cars, cyclists with a death wish and the only indication that a heavily decorated Indian bus is going to cut in an overtake is the constant beeping of their horns.



It says how tired I was that this morning I was able to fall asleep in the traffic. Andrew could not take his eyes off any of the oncoming vehicles. I put my ability down to my upbringing in Egypt giving me an understanding that as I am thankfully not in the driving seat there is very little I can change as a back seat passenger (in Delhi at least!).



We arrived at our hotel and were greeted with a lime green drink made from a local plant. It was ominously luminous but it seemed to be made mainly of lemonade and I do struggle to turn down a free drink. We bid goodnight and thank you to Mr Mantosh and headed up to our room and attempted to get ahead of the jet lag by heading to bed early.

Well that's me for now. Laters bbz!

Advertisement



18th April 2013

Delhi traffic
And they smile too!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb