Back to Delhi, 8 days to go!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
July 12th 2011
Published: July 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was a long hard day. After the relief of the countryside, and a day off yesterday- Kristina and I went to see Qutub Minar in the early evening, and it was really lovely- I'll put the photos up soon-
It was quite a struggle to go back to work this morning! After leaving Cayla at Maya Puri, I got stuck in traffic for 20 minutes, and didn't get to Zakhira until 11am! 2 boys from my first class didn't want to miss out, so joined in with my second class, which went okay in the end. We learnt about fruit and drew some interesting pictures! I have really started to run out of ideas for teaching, and am aware that I only have until Friday, so can't start anything which needs a lot of explaining. I will talk about different foods and do some fun lessons hopefully.
The centre was really quiet at Pankaj and Shiny were both elsewhere, and there were less people hanging around than usual. My third class is filling up again, and we had a good lesson. They really love wordsearches! They also enjoyed me attempting to tell them about my weekend- luckily I left the photos on my camera, so I could explain a bit better!
My last class was only 2 girls, and we had some good english conversation, and they taught me some more hindi words.
Unfortunately, I had a headache by the time I left- the air cooler wasn't working so it was hotter than usual- and after waiting around for an auto, I got a headache, and then the traffic seemed extra busy and noisy! Luckily the girls were still at the office when I arrived, so we got an auto home together.
I can't believe I only have 8 days left, 4 of which I'll be teaching in! I am quite excited about coming home, but it's gonna be a bit of a culture (and weather) shock, and I know I'm going to miss everyone here a lot!
I haven't felt homesick while I've been here, and I wasn't upset about leaving England for 6 weeks, because I knew I was going to be back, but I don't know the next time I'll be back in India, and after meeting everyone and making some great friendships, it makes me sad to think that it's going to be a long time before I see some of these people again, and I'll be leaving behind a lot of kids who have made an impact on me, and I might not see them again.
I am still grateful to everyone who has been supporting me over the last 5 weeks, and everyone who has helped me get here in some way.
Despite only having 8 days, I have a lot to pack in! I still need to buy things to bring home, buy a sari, get some more clothes to remind me of India, see the Taj Mahal, and eat lots of food!
Expect the next blog in the next couple of days, after I've done some more interesting things!
Adios.

Advertisement



13th July 2011

very nice blog
it very nice cool and well written blog. one of the reason for likin ur blog that i m frm delhi :)

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb