Happy Independance Day!


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today started out well, I was woken up to a breakfast of French (American) toast, made by the super-patriotic C9 residents from the US of A, and some interesting "country" music, from their end of the world.
The auto drive was eventful as per usual, we stopped on the corner of a random street and the driver hopped out, said "one minute" and hopped back in a minute or two later. We dunno where he went, possibly to see where the nearest CNG station was. Anyway, we then pulled over so he could refuel, and Cayla went to buy some Limca, which they didn't have and then they tried to charge her 100 rupees for some other "soda" so she jumped back into the auto as we came round the corner!
My trip from Maya Puri to Zakhira was quite uneventful, and I was relieved to arrive at Zakhira!
The boys in my first lesson were being cooperative and polite, which was a relief! MY second class was a bit rowdy, and kept getting disturbed, so I struggled to keep their attention, and decided not to do the drawing activity I had planned. They were all keen to leave at 12 for school, and lunch time was pretty quiet again. One of the older guys brought in his younger brother (I think) who fell asleep on him, but he's the cutest little kid, and was really well behaved, just sitting there quietly! I read a lot of my book, and enjoyed my lunch, which I had actually bothered to make the night before! (shock horror mum!) I had rice, potatoes, egg and tomatoes, all fried with some spices and it was really yummy -this is also what I had for dinner last night 😊- I think I am getting the hang of this survival thing...
My 3rd class was very empty, only 2 girls showed up, and Pankaj said that as they get back from school late, some may not turn up till 2.30, and some might not come at all. The 2 that were there were good anyway, and started drawing their daily activities.
My last class had become my favourite, even though half of them turn up late, and they talk in Hindi for most of the lesson, they are getting better at making sentences in English and respond well to my questions and things. They all drew their different daily activities, and got carried away colouring and didn't want me to pack up at 4!
I got an auto pretty easily, but halfway down the road there was some kind of problem, and the driver was unable to change gear, so we were going walking speed for about 10 minutes, before he pulled over, and made me wait 20 minutes while he got a guy to fix the gear cable (this is the second time this has happened to an auto driver on the way back from the slum!!)
We went to Priya to buy essential ingredients for our USA party time tonight, and bought traditional American McDonalds (or not- they got Paneer burgers, which are certainly not american!) and fitted 5 of us in an auto on the way home! I think they are making apple pie, and possibly cookies this evening, and us non-americans will all have a valuable learning experience this evening!

I didn't blog over the weekend because I didn't do much, but the Americans went to the US Embassy for a party, and had a great time, and I went to church yesterday, and met up with Vikki, who is staying with a family who have affiliations with Asha, and go to the same church as Freddy. I went to her host's house for lunch, and we went to Sirojini market, and I finally started souvenir shopping, but still haven't managed to buy any postcards! I plan to buy and write and even send them very soon!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb