Day 25: Did Somebody Say Monsoon?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
June 27th 2011
Published: June 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning it took me a while to get an auto; the first guy tried to charge me 200 rupees! Luckily the second guy agreed on 140 rupees, and just about knew the way. Although I think he got annoyed at me but I couldn't actually understand him. I was just trying to tell him where to do a U-turn!
There were only 3 boys in my first class, then a fourth showed up half an hour late, and the last one showed up 10 minutes before the end! I can't communicate "Go away" very well, so he ended up staying anyway! Maybe I should enforce the late rule a bit better... Hmm.
The second class went well as usual, very lively boys who all enjoyed drawing different weather types on the board. It is quite difficult to demonstrate the different types of weather, as my white board drawing skills are limited! Some of the boys actually remembered how to ask for a wordsearch in English, which I was very pleased with! The others still struggled and had to be prompted a lot!
I ended up falling asleep at lunchtime, while I was reading my book, and had to wake myself up so I could actually teach my class. There was only 4 girls there today, and they are mostly well behaved! They also managed to ask for a wordsearch in English (just about).
My last class was a record 6 girls! Including a new girl who knows lots of English.
They didn't like it much when I told them not to speak, or to speak in English, and went quiet, then started talking in Hindi 5 minutes later! (It wouldn't be so bad if I could understand what they were saying!)
It started raining at 3.30, and the courtyard had turned into a puddle! It had pretty much stopped raining by 4 when I left, but the roads were resembling rivers! It is crazy how fast the water builds up! All the way home in the auto (which was surprisingly easy to get today!) I was marvelling at the sheer amount of water, and the men standing around looking at the water, trying to figure out what to do with it!
The trouble with the rain is that it washes away all the gathered rubbish, and wash through the drains and make them overflow, and carries lot of horrible smells.
All I wanted to do was photograph the chaos, but as we were moving I didn't get many good pics.
It has been a lot cooler today, only 25 degrees or so, and now it's 29 (at 7pm) so hopefully it will stay like this!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb