Week 5??


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
February 7th 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So, I am currently in Delhi. Ash left several days ago; I'm staying alone with her Indian family. Sandeep, who is our age, has become my very good friend, she is the only one in the house who speaks english. . First off. At this age, in India, 22 year olds still live at home and are still treated like teenagers. Second. There is no mother like an Indian mother. I've discovered this over the last several days while fighting a stomach parasite. If the water is holy water, does it still get you sick? Despite the protests of my dear, religious Indian friends, the answer is (unfortunately) yes of course. Don't let someone force you to drink holy water, you will regret it. I feel like vomiting, thus, indian food is the last food I want to eat. Here in India, everyone thinks that I'm going to die if I don't eat at least every hour. So you can see the dilemma I've run into. I'm constantly trying to explain to Sandeep's mother that I will throw up if she tries to feed me anything else. She gets very angry with me, they all do. What to eat, what to eat?? Everything I look at looks heavy and oily. In America I would be eating chicken soup?? Being sick in a foreign country = not knowing how to take care of yourself. All I've been able to eat is fruit, yogurt, and bread. I feel quite weak.

I've lost my voice in this country. It's most definitely difficult to be in India without the language. There is literally no point in me trying to convey anything to those who don't speak english. But even with those who do, I still feel like I have no voice. Here is how it works. Someone offers you food, you say no. And you say no again. And again. And no matter how many times you say no, you aren't heard, because no is not the answer that they want! Being sick, All I want to do is sleep. Yet as many times as I beg and beg that I need to sleep, I'm still pulled out of bed to go see Mahara ji when he summons me.

Writing a 6 page personal statement in India = not as fun as it sounds haha. Let me tell you of my experience and why I value American technology so much more now. The first part of my essay was written on a small laptop. I never got that part of the essay back, because the computer belongs to someone who is an hour away who doesn't have functional internet. The second part of my essay was written in a home in Punjab. The electricity would periodically shut off, my work wouldn't be saved. The internet was also shifty, and my gmail documents suffered greatly. Not no mention, two children (whom I love very much) couldn't help but to read what I wrote from over my shoulder. The third part of my essay was written from an internet cafe. This is where I got the bulk of my application finished- I became quite good friends with the cute little mouse who lives in here.

Things I miss most :
1. Friends and family
2. piano
3. rock climbing (and working out in general)
4. The pacific ocean
5. Benefits of being a woman in the United states (Ladies, don't underestimate this one)
6. Whole Foods (yes, the market, don't make fun of me)
7. Pandora (doesn't work in India)

Before Ash and I left, we had a method down of how to keep people from offering me sugar. When visiting Indian homes (especially in the Punjab villages), you are offered Chai and an array of sugary sweets. Ash and I began to tell her family members that I was Diabetic toward the end of the trip, that way they wouldn't be upset when I didn't accept sweets. The aunties in one family in particular were especially in love with me, and when ash told them I was diabetic...
Ash (in Punjabi): My friend is diabetic, she can't accept sweets
Auntie # 15: Oh, the poor dear!!
Grandma # 6: Oh my god!! I can't believe it! She's much too Young and Pretty to have diabetes!!! We must all pray for her!!
Auntie # 17 : so tragic, I will pray for her too!
--> a plate of biscuits are set in front of me
Ash, to me : You better eat those biscuits! My Aunt had the small shop down the street opened specially for you so she could buy you sugar free biscuits......

Oiiyy. There is no winning here haha. just eat the sweets.

Ash, Sukhmani, Lally and I all traveled down to Rajasthan before Ash and Sukhu left. Rajasthan was the home of all of the ancient Indian prince and princesses: think Aladdin. There were forts and Palaces in many of the cities, it was beauuutifuul.... Udaipur, in particular, was stunning. This city is commonly known as "The Venice of India". There were palaces in the middle of the lake. I was happy to see some mountains! My goal was to go hiking, though I was quickly informed that the mountains were home of some deadly poisonous snakes.
Elephants and camels lined the streets. The people all dress in colorful dyed cloths. Rajasthan is known particularly well for their long skirts, which are all different colors and patterns, embellished with small mirrors and flowered embroidery.
I took too many pictures to count, below are the best few.











































Advertisement



7th February 2011

feel better bonky! love you and miss you! p.s. these places are blowing my mind they're so beautiful
8th February 2011

these look amazing B. I wish i was there seeing everything you get to see. George
14th February 2011

Hope you start feeling better! these are some gorgeous photos, they dont even look real! we miss you here too! ill visit whole foods for you, you can be there in spirit! love you girl!

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb