posh party in Panscheel Park


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
January 24th 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A short blog today, with pictures only from the party at Sanjay's brother's (Ravi's) house across the street on Sunday night. With help from Ajay's mother (who wears a sari everyday), I wore my new pink-and-orange silk sari. It was fun to wear, but I had to be very careful. Luckily, I had only to walk across the street to get to the party!

The party was for Ravi and Meenu's wedding anniversary, and it was lovely. Meenu is very creative -- she's a clothes designer -- and she had the terrace decorated with draperies, lights, fountains, etc. I met some really nice people, all either close friends or relatives of Ravi and Meenu, and the catered food was great -- especially the dessert table! Indians love sweets, and so do I ... it's a bad combination, figure-wise ...

Sanjay left before midnight to go to the airport -- he flew back to Canada -- and I stayed for supper, which of course wasn't served until very late.

For the past two days, I have done something completely different: I have socialized with non-Indians in Delhi. On Monday, I went to the Canadian embassy compound for lunch with Caryl, who I met in Kerala. She is from Port Credit originally, and works in immigration. She showed me her house -- she lives on the compound in a house that is HUGE by Delhi standards -- and we ate caesar salad by the pool, with other Canadians. Through Caryl, I found out about the Canadian presence in Delhi, services for Canadians, etc.

It was very interesting as thus far I have not been part of the ex-pat community at all, living with Indians in south Delhi. However, I was very much a part of the ex-pat community in Tokyo when I lived there, so I know all about that life. It can be good to know about these things, but some people get so involved, it's like they are still living in Canada. Caryl told me there are people who never leave the Canadian compound -- which is very spacious and comfortable but much more like Canada than India. Most of the embassies are in the same area of Delhi, on a wide boulevard called Shantipath. It's a different world!

Today I went with my Kiwi friend Rebecca to a meeting of the Delhi Network at the Hyatt Regency Hotel. I met some nice women, but most of them are on a different wave length, somehow. Most of them came here because their husbands were transferred here, and most of them have children. Rebecca and I came alone to India because we wanted to; she is now married to an Indian; and neither of us have children. But again, it is good to knwo about these groups and what they offer. Good for making connections and for finding out about living in Delhi -- which is not easy for the uninitiated.

Then off we went to Dilli Haat, an outdoor shopping arcade that features crafts and things from all over India. Shoes, fabric, artwork, jewellry and a food court. We ate an organic vegetarian thali from Uttranchal, and I bought some (more) shoes. The prices at Dilli Haat are the cheapest I have seen anywhere in India, so I spent most of the time browsing there getting angry! I kept seeing things I bought for much more elsewhere!! (Note to Sanjay: they have HUNDREDS of paintings like the ones we bought in Karnal for a fraction of the price.)

I am still getting enquiries about
lovely ladieslovely ladieslovely ladies

I chatted with these wonderfully-dressed women for quite awhile, but I can't write their names because I don't know how to spell them!
Shinshiva Ayurvedic Ashram. They just today launched a website:

http://www.shinshivaresort.com/

So you can visit and find out more about it. The managing director emailed me today and told me the weather in July and August is very pleasant. There will be rain (it's monsoon season), but some people think monsoon is the best time for ayurvedic treatment.

For the next few days I will probably be confined to Panscheel Park due to the very high security around Delhi. Republic Day is on Thursday, January 26, and there will be a huge parade. But terrorism is always a threat here, especially at times like this, so the city is on high alert.

Then, on Saturday, I will be off to Chennai for five weeks to live in a hotel and study yoga. My world will change again ...






Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

another beautifully dressed womananother beautifully dressed woman
another beautifully dressed woman

Indu's orange sari was covered in jewels. She looked great and she was really nice!
the bar ...the bar ...
the bar ...

... and the turban-capped waiters


25th January 2006

good times
Party on sister!
25th January 2006

M. Thanks for all the information re: Shinshiva. I will keep bugging you for advice on different treatments they offer some other time. You looked so radiant in that amazing sari. Good luck with your yoga course. I hope it is going to be whatever you imagined it to be. Gosia
29th July 2011
Sanjay and I at the party

lovely and a comment
such a beautiful picture. My whole town (US) ,well a good part of it, are from India. They have come here for the public school system, one of the best US, All of my neighbors are from India. We have an Indian grocery shop, and I believe one of the best Indian lunch buffets imaginable. I love to pick up some Indian clothes there, and then noone knows, despite blonde/blue eyes, that I am not Indian....(kidding) It is more fun for me here then the next closest, town, Princeton, NJ You have to visit this town in the US someday.

Tot: 0.199s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1226s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb