Tea or Chai?


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My last day of work will be next Tuesday (or Wednesday depending on my boss' mood), after which I plan to go to Dharamsala with Erin, a California native but graduate of Northwestern in Chicago. I met her at a coffee shop after she'd just finished bunjee-jumping and was wearing her "I just finished bunjee jumping" tee-shirt.
I immediately knew she'd be a good person to travel with.
I have little spare time to converse with my parents these days and have not spoken to them on the phone for over a month. We do chat online occassionally, but its so hard to keep them informed with things on this front at 2 am when they can chat with me in the morning at work.
I didn't have a chance to tell them that I went to a press conference where one of my IU professors was in attendence via webcast. That was pretty interesting. I also haven't been able to tell them that I've met some new friends and spent Saturday trying hard not to become too close to them because I'm leaving so abruptly. I already have too many goodbyes, and it makes me sad.
They are aware however, that I'm working my ass off for Toyota and in fact had to wake up this morning at 6 am to reach Noida in time for a meeting at 8. Last night, I left the office at 10:30 and expect another long night today. To plan ahead, I've asked our office assistant to pick up some coffee packets so we can get by.
It's so funny that my trip to India is concluding with a client from Japan. Somehow it feels so familiar and natural to hear myself called "Rachel-San" again. I also have the opportunity to compare the drastic differences in work culture between each country. At least in this case, it seems very drastic. I had a short laugh with one of the Event Staffers from Japan about Japanese tea and Indian chai. I could tell that he was somewhat displeased with the snacks and drinks we were having at our breakfast meeting.
A few friends are hosting a pool party in Maelle and My honor next weekend (our last weekend in Delhi.) Somehow I've met enough interesting people to include an Iraqi DJ, Iranian Supermodel, Indian Fashion Designer, American Book Author, Porteaguese Wine Seller, and French Best Friend to the guest list. It's really fascinating how life works like that.
Anyway, need to get back and help my team. I don't suppose any of my Chicago friends can fed-ex me some starbucks?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb