Duncan of the Raj


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
March 19th 2008
Published: April 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Were on our way!

So it begins. India is a country I have always wanted to visit but for multiple reasons I wasnt able to do so until this year. I was expecting many things and it turned intoa a trip of experiences, a flavour of which I hope to capture in this blog.

A little about me; I'm 41, have 2 great kids Rachael and Jack of whom I have joint custody but they are a little young at the moment to join Dad on his travel adventures.

So I flew out of Heathrow one windy wet morning to land into the overwhelming experience that is India and especially New Delhi. It overwhelms all your senses, so much to see, an incredible range of smells, noise wherever you turn and an incredilble range of humanity spread in front of you. 48 hrs was enough to start with, I know all India travel blogs warn you it will be a culture shock, but it still won't prepare you for it.

After doing most of the sights, I headed out to head for the mountains, and thats where the plans started to unravel .....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Humayun's Tomb Humayun's Tomb
Humayun's Tomb

A place of sanctuary, and the prototype for the Taj Mahal, worth going to see espeically for abreak from the masses!
Red Fort palaceRed Fort palace
Red Fort palace

Inside the Red fort, the light show was rubbish but worth it for shots like this


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb