All good things must come to an end.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So after 14 and a bit weeks, that’s 101 days, over 8000kms, 2900 photos, god knows how many hours on buses, trains, planes and anything from 2, 3 or 4 wheels; its time to pull the pin and face the realities of the real world. I've run out of cash and more importantly I’ve run out of steam. Now the question is how do I summarise my Indian experience. In short, I can’t there’s just too much that’s happened, and I don’t think words can really describe the world wind of emotions and experiences. It's been nothing short of exciting, provoking, awe-inspiring, overwhelming, relaxing and stressful but never dull. There are simply too many adjectives to describe it.

Nothing can fully prepare you for India, it’s a roller coaster ride tickling every sensation with the ability to inspire, frustrate, thrill and confound all at once. Some days you love the people, culture and lifestyle, other days it’s all too much and nothing short of crippling, but that’s the attraction of India, you have to take the good with the bad. Sure there are things that I wont miss at all, the farm yard full of animals wandering the streets, the stench of urine stained walls, the male dominated Indian society, the constant hassle from anyone and everyone. It seems far easier to describe the negatives of the Indian world, but there are just as many positive experiences, but I think time is the real key here. In a couple of months I will only then really grasp the concept of what has happened and fully appreciate the life changing experience. A new world has been presented to me; I have a new outlook on life, a weight lifted from my shoulders and a sense of achievement from this adventure. I love the feeling of no responsibility, no one to answer to; the only concern has been, ‘what’s for lunch’. But all good things must come to an end, and as one chapter closes a new chapter begins, its time to face the real world again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb