Delhi for the last time


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi
November 7th 2006
Published: November 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A lie in, a hot shower and lecture from Afzal about not visiting Delhi's historical sights, I was home and set of to buy yet another ticket, 3rd time lucky I hope, to Jaipur - both Afzal and Nareem (A's cook) were horrified when I told them the train/ station that I had purchased in Agra. Although the train was only 99p - 2nd class, the taxi there would have been at least 7 pounds!

I spent the rest of the day wandering around Old Delhi, it's so different from New D, where I have been staying, much more like the rest of India; full of ramshackle houses, shops selling all sorts of goods from material, saris, vehicle parts/ machinery, jewels, brightly coloured toys, telephone booths and much more mixed amongst the dhaba's and fruit stalls. Cycle rickshaw's, which are banned from New weave magically through the usual traffic and people, all followed by the shouts of tradesmen and horns blaring. Around Afzal's and Nina's the streets are treelined with gated guarded driveways leading to some huge houses, blocks of flats and smart cars in the driveways.

Amongst all the bustle, dirt and sparkle, I was brought back to reality with a bump and the harshness of life as a deformed man begged amongst the traffic and the reminder that yesterday I saw a dead body being wheeled away through the crowded station. We are all very lucky.

My final dinner was with Afzal, in the bedroom on her bed, like a picnic. I was all packed an ready to go, filled with advise and various addresses. I'm really sorry to leave Amrita Shergill Marg and all within, they really have made my stay in Delhi and I'm going to miss them.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb