Still In Delhi...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
November 6th 2008
Published: October 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello once again from New Delhi,

I met a couple of Indian guys in Connaught Park yesterday evening; first pair of local people who didn’t seem to want something from me! Made a nice change and got plenty of advice, one of them Samir told me know that he hates Delhi and wants to leave by Febuary so he can move back to Bangalore - so that says something! Got a auto-rickshaw (I still think they’re called tuk-tuks…) back to the hostel which started a battle of wills between the locals as to where it is! Amazing how they argued in the spirit of making sure I got back safely.

Booked a train ticket to Bikaner leaving Delhi tomorrow at 10:30pm and getting in at 11am. Going to be one hell of an experience! It’s class 3AC I think which means there are three tiers of beds and air conditioning too (woop!). Should probably find somewhere to stay in advance, but i’m such a travel noob I'm not sure what to do!

Things are definitely getting easier though as times goes on. Met another pair of Australians in
the train station earlier and they had spent a month all over india, following coming down from nepal and having done the Annapurna circuit themselves. Ironic really, they used to be my nemesis - but Aussies are starting to be my favourite people!

Nothing much more to add, in no way did I have my first 'proper' meal since arriving in India in a McDonalds, that would be wrong. Almost walked into plenty more cows, and have decided that where i am staying should be named not ‘Desh Bandu Gupta Road’, to simply ‘Goat Street’. Would be much easier to describe to cab drivers in any case.

In Bikaner I should be taking a trip to the ‘Temple of Rats’ where the rats are actually regarded holy, there are thousands and you go in with bare feet. Pretty terrified as mine currently smell v much like cheese…

Wish me luck! xx

Also, i walked into a cow yesterday.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb