Californian girl and Sarees--India with Krystal


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi » Qutub Minar
June 13th 2017
Published: April 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh the sari dresses!!!

As a blonde girl I think its safe to say aloud: One of the reasons I came to India was for the sarees.

My first experience flying into the Delhi International airport, was the first time in my life I saw a woman wearing a sari. Almost every woman on the plane that day seemed to be dressed in a gorgeous array of colors, bangles, necklaces, nose rings, toe rings and various shiny things. (Shiny things=Blonde girls kyrptonite)

I was in absolute heaven when I realized that living in India meant getting to dress up in the sari dress. Whether attending a festival such as Diwali, or getting invites to a wedding, any occasion to wear a sari you can count me in.

Putting on the sari takes a bit of practice--and skill--but luckily Indian women are so friendly and happy to try to help or teach me. Language barrier is not an issue when it comes to these girlie matters either as it seems women in all countries and classes are at the end of the day still: women.

Growing up I was never considered to be a real "girly girl" but there is something enchanting about the idea of wearing a sari that will make your spirit soar. Even wearing normal clothes and walking down the street in Delhi or catching the metro, the colors and varieties of fabrics and gowns the women are wearing is truly a pleasing sight. I cannot say for a second that I would trade my daily excursions in suits, kurtis, saris etc over the typical American attire of mini skirts, yoga pants with words written on the bum, low cut tops and tanks and exposed underpants from the backside...

How I love India.

Please check out my website: https://www.kryskolumbustravel.com

Also: www.krystal-kelly.com

Advertisement



6th April 2013

sarees
good to know that, you liked the dress ^^
28th April 2013

gorgeous!
You look great! The sari is such a feminine garment, it always makes me feel like a princess even though I'm a tomboy when I'm not in a sari! You look really good. I hope you enjoyed your time in Delhi and, most importantly, stayed safe.
28th April 2013

Hello
Thank you! I'm also a tomboy on most days so I feel extra special when I get to wear a sari :) I am still in Delhi so keep following my posts and hope to hear from you again soon! https://www.facebook.com/IndiaWithKrystal

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb