Bombay Dreamin'


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
April 22nd 2011
Published: October 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I've been meaning to write this for so long..and now it's almost 10pm on a Monday night and I should be doing some work for tomorrow but..

I'm writing this a good 6 months after my trip to Mumbai/Bombay. Anna and I decided to explore the city for 2-3 days and met up with our friend Bhavna while we were there too. I've been curious about it since seeing my first Bollywood movie in B'desh and also having finished 'Shantaram' at Christmas..

Anna found a decent hotel online and it turned out to be in a great location. When I can remember its name, I'll enter it here..

While we were in Mumbai:

-We went to the Elephanta Caves, which are on an island an hour or so by boat from Mumbai. I got thrown up on on the way by a kid which was just great. And made me think 'kids, no way, not now' once again!
-Shopped in the main markets
-Went to see a silly but entertaining movie
-Sipped coffee until 1.30am (shock horror, stuff in Mumbai doesn't close at 11pm like in B'lore!)
-Enjoyed sheesha and delicious food at a place called..Sheesha!
-Several cups of street chai outside the hotel, yum
-Catching the train, one of my favourite parts of the trip, hanging out the side window to catch the breeze and to see the outskirts of Mumbai whirl by
-Got stared at by the crowds on Chowpatty Beach
-Saw some ridiculous street signs
-Went to the Mahalaxmi Dhobi Ghat
-Went on a slum tour
-Ate a massive masala dosa
-Dined at Leopold's (Shantaram; had to be done)
-Sweated a lot, phew, was it hotter than B'lore or what!

I really liked Mumbai, the buzz of it all. A lot more buzzing than B'lore, not that that would be hard! I'd like to go again..


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb