Bombay ~ Thane


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
February 16th 2011
Published: February 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

003003003

Thane
I am in Mumbai, Thane, NE of the city center. I am being hosted by an Indian family, friends of a patient I cared for in Vancouver, CA. The hospitality offered is overwhelming at times. I arrived from Goa late Valentine's night to my hotel, my host/friend took me for dinner, had: masala popadum; this is a crisp flat round small plate size cracker made of lentil flour with a salty taste, sprinkled with finely chopped red onion, tomatoes and of course...spice, snacks of peanuts and little mini cheese crackers, skewered chicken, and vegetable roll things with mint chutney, a dish with homemade paneer (cheese), dahl and roti bread, accompanied with Sula Santori red wine. Ending with a dried fruit (which means nuts) little triangle of ice cream with an essence of cardamon. It was glutenous and very good. My poor belly didn't do well however, and I got a GI bug for several days. Intuitively I had purchased and brought with me Wormwood herb tea from Vancouver. I drank this tea for several days as it rids of parasites and help the joints.
As recommended to me I sought out and found a Tibetan clinic. I was having a lot
005005005

One of my host's
of pain and difficulty getting around with my legs, coupled with an ill belly. I took a taxi from Thane to Malad, about a half hours journey. The Dr felt the pulses on both of my wrists, I fell into tears as the frustration of lack of mobility had caught up with me, emphatically he agreed to treat me, I sat in his office with acupuncture needles in my L knee, whilst other Indian patients came in for consultations. Then he brought me to a clinic room were I was able to lye down, after acupuncture to my R groin, he heated oil and used an herbal ball in cloth, what felt like burning my skin at the sites of pain. It helped immensely. The clinic was steady with India's of all casts coming in for treatment. Gratefully after the treatments I was able to walk better. They sent me off with herbal meds to take for 10 days and to f/u with more treatment, which I did several days later.
The trains here are notorious...my first experience was going to Vashi. Which is NE of Thane. A friend I had made on the train from Kochin to Goa was from this area and offered to take me around New Mumbai, I was taking him up on it. My hosts secretary brought me to the station, got me a 1st class ticket and got me on the "Ladies Only" first class car...I was all by myself, here I had been hearing so much about the trains, with all its chaos. He met me outside the station, waiting patiently for me to walk, rather gimp/limp my way. I was in a sorry state, having to eat bland foods as well...Imagine being in India and not being able to eat spice! We had lunch, the waiter just could not accept an order of boiled vegetables...with what has become my mantra..."No salt, No oil, and No butter" The first plate had a sauce, that surely looked like butter to me, he spoke in Hindi that he just couldn't believe it, that anyone could eat without "something" on it!😊 They took it back and my suspicion is...they just rinsed the vegetables. Oh well, I ate a little and had some rice. We then went to the mall as this was the hottest part of the day, I was able to get some things I
025025025

First class women's only
needed, like a bathing suit, not an easy task in India. The women's bathing suits have attached tight shorts. Found a normal one! A speedo. Then we were off.
There are several townships in New Mumbai, some more residential than others, all with their own unique flavor. My friend desperately wanted to have me try some of the foods...I could only have a mango lassi...yum. This is made of curd (yogurt) with mango flavor. I saw many beautiful sites, a man made lake with different types of boats, and a circumference trail about 2kms with couples, singles, dogs, birds. Temples, the mini version of the Queens necklace, Central Park...Indian attempt at the NY version, missing all the trees, yet a sweet place busy with families, beautiful temples, churches, mosque on a hill. The architecture was newer, the air a bit fresher, the best part was the Ghats, Mountains. He was very sensitive to my digging into his shoulders from fear of being back on a motorcycle since my crash. I knew I could trust him and that it was important I got back on, and moved on from any residual fear.
This time gave me courage, am in a hotel with a hot shower and A/C...first since arriving here, in India Jan 5th. As I continue to recover from the scooter crash, and GI upset, so for the first few days I have been enjoying light shopping and the solace of my room.
I slowly ventured to see a bit of the city, as I was told, extreme poverty adjacent to extreme wealth and everything in between. I have gone to the mall near my hotel several times. In the past year+ I don't think I entered a mall in Canada...there is a grocery store there that has just about everything, where I stock up on fruits. One night I went to go see a movie...American, with Ashton Kutcher and Natalie Portman. Escaped into California where the film was set, a light romantic comedy. At the start of the film, the Indian flag came up on the screen, then everyone stood up and the national anthem started to play! I thought America was patriotic!
Walking through the mall in a part of the city outskirts where there are nearly no westerners, I get, stared, glared, pointed, and smiled at I feel like a movie star. I find this as well in the streets of Thane. I went searching for a suitcase, exchanging money...which unlike in Kerala and Goa they charge a government exchange fee in Mumbai. I walked alot, shopping, exploring, had a juice and rest with lovely waiters giving me tips on how to get to Varanassi...when I go. Discovered taking out my camera got me a much better reception of the merchants, locals, mostly they love having there picture taken, and love to see it. I was drawn to this decrepit looking building, stopped to photo, and a man walking by told me that it was a Lakshmi temple...Lakshmi is the Hindu goddess of prosperity, true to form, as India constantly proposes is an influx of paradoxes, what appears so poor is actually wealth in disguise, reminding me never to judge, always to trust with an open heart and curiosity. I did not boost the economy much that day, yet after searching and networking for a yoga therapy program I could partake in to rehabilitate, and coming up with ashrams with rigorous 5:30am-10pm schedules, which I was not up for. I happened across a sign for a physiotherapist who practices cranial-sacral, Indian born and trained, then trained and
037037037

Navi Mumbai
worked in US for 12 years. She saw me that night, worked with me for 2 hours, first with pain management with TENS, heat, ultrasound, massage and ice, then exercises to strengthen the muscles surrounding the injured areas. I was lying on the treatment table in awe, I felt like Lakshmi had truly blessed me!




Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

038038
038

NB
039039
039

NB
003003
003

Thane
024024
024

Lakshmi Temple


2nd March 2011

I am so happy to find your blog and to talk with you tonight. Your trip sound multi-dimensional. I am so glad to know that the boys are OK. I am sending healing light for your knee and groin area. I love you and will continue to travel along via the blog.

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb