Perfected Crazyness the Mumbai Way 10th-15th June 09


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
July 9th 2009
Published: July 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

View from the Intercontinental HotelView from the Intercontinental HotelView from the Intercontinental Hotel

In my Top 5 Bars...Everrr

Day 1



I have been to Mumbai on numerous occasions before but never with the same purpose. The purpose here being crazy relaxation, if that makes any sense. The trip started out on a disastrous note with my flight landing on the 11th of July instead of the 10th. Ok, that’s stretching the truth a little but still, 4 damn hours late which meant landing at 12.30am.

Walking out of the airport I was hoping to god the rest of the trip did not chase the start. I guess that was just the right jolt of pessimism required, as things took a complete U turn from there. As I got to the taxi stand, seeing I was a little lost with the numerous taxi alternatives available, an elderly couple approached me and asked me if they could help. I was a little weary for a second being the converted Delhiite I apparently am, but as the conversation went on it became shamefully clear that they were being truly genuine. That’s when I realized why I love Mumbai so much, there’s something about the people. I finally got to my aunts place in Bandra at about 1.15 with only sleep
Soulmate Soulmate Soulmate

Soulmate at BlueFrog....Brilliant
on my mind but as I opened the door all drowsiness disappeared. A stunning view and the perfect breeze on a sultry Mumbai night has got to be one of the most unique out of body experiences ever.

Thursday morning started sublimely with the perfect view and my favorite breakfast (bacon, sausages & eggs). Soon after which my aunt and myself headed out to Phoenix Mills for some bowling and beer. The lows of the previous day were well and truly behind me. After bowling a 181 which I consider pretty awesome and 2 pints down we headed to one of my top 5 restaurants in the world, Gajalee. Anyone who hasn’t been there, all I have to say is “Run Forest Run”. I stuck to my standard order of fried Bombay Duck (which is a fish by the way), Masala Mussels, Prawns & some Neer Dosa. Just the thought makes me gain weight. After stuffing my face and resting for a while, I took a seaside stroll and then got ready to paint the city red. We started the night nice and early by heading to the Blue Frog by around 8.30 pm to watch this band called Soulmate release their new album. The lead singer whose name I fail to recall has one of the best voices I have heard in a long time. Finally forced to leave with only 4 days to cover it all club hopping was the order of the night. Blue frog to Zenzi to HardRock to Shiros back to Zenzi and finally to a coffee shop at the Oberoi.

Pheww…That ends Day 1….to all you readers out there…. May the forces of evil get lost on the way to your front doorstep……Ciao



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Hard Rock Hard Rock
Hard Rock

Hard Rock Mumbai


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb