Foreigners not allowed!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 2nd 2006
Published: January 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

One other interesting incident…

I went for a dawn walk the other day on the grounds of the Bhabha Atomic Research Center, which is the birthplace of the Indian Atomic Bomb. The research facilitiy/reactor has well manicured grounds and streets where the workers live. It is a nice place to take a walk, and the people I'm staying with go there often in the morning for a little exercise.

There is a security checkpoint you must cross on foot to get into the grounds. Going in, I just walked right in beside my fiancee and his father. There an no cars allowed in and some landscaping, so it really is a good place to walk. I was really enjoying the walk. We saw one guy walking with a security guard on each side and a small vehicle following him. My fiancee told me the guy must be a big time scientist, and the other guys are there to protect him. Interesting ...

So we are walking towards the gate and security checkpoint to leave. This security guard comes up to us and starting speaking in Hindi to my fiancee's father (it it polite to address the eldest) and shaking his finger in his face. After we left, I asked what happened. Apparently the security guard said that foreigners are not allowed on the grounds. He was quite upset about seeing me there. Apparently this guard was a supervisor and the person who let me in either did not know the rule or was not paying attention. Then he said none of us can ever go back! I feel bad about ruining the morning walk place (they assured me there are other places to walk), but perhaps I am one of the very few uninvited foreigners who has walked around there.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb