Ahmedabad and rainy days in Bombay (Mumbai)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
June 15th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ahmedabad



I arrived in Ahmedabad at the beginning of last week. It was really only for business and there is not much to do in this extremely conservative state (completely dry as well). Travellers tend to avoid Gujurat...not much to see and very hot in the summer. The people there are very religious; there is a large Muslim and Hindu presence of course, but Jainism is most represented in this state. True Jains believe in elements of Hindu and Buddhist faiths, are staunch vegetarians, and also do not eat any vegetables that come out of the ground (sometimes I wonder what they actually are allowed to eat). To be totally honest, I was bored to tears in Ahmedabad and don't see any reason to come back in the future.

On the flip side, I am really glad I was able to see Ghandi's ashram. He resided in Ahmedabad while he plotted India's independence from British colonial rule. They have now erected a museum on the site of the ashram, which was incredible...the entire story of Ghandi's life was told through his own personal quotes. It makes you feel incredibly base when you hear someone speak so profoundly with everything that comes out of their mouth. I really liked this place and have chosen a quote that I want tattooed because it reminds of why I do what I do, and where I want to go. Paraphrasing this moment, but Ghandi said of his house at the ashram, "I don't want my house to be closed in by four walls and the windows stuffed. I want the sands of all cultures to blow freely through...but I refuse to be blown away by any of them."

Also in Ahmedabad, I was able to meet two large NGOs that offer insurance to the social sector, SEWA and ICECD. The first being one of the largest microfinance enterprises in India,started as a trade union for informal women laborers. Both went really well.

Rainy days in Bombay



After Ahmedabad I caught an overnight train to Bombay. I arrived last week on Wednesday and will leave today. Bombay has been an incredibly frustrating experience...not because of the city itself, but from a project perspective. I had scheduled interviews with two international insurance companies, ICICI Lombard and Birla Sun Life. The rep from the latter told me there would be no problem having an interview with the director of social programs, however once I arrived in Bombay, she kept putting me off and eventually said it wouldn't be possible! So I have stayed in this expensive city, in a crappy hotel for almost a week and had one decent interview. I'm irritated to say the least.

Also,the monsoon has come early this year. It started raining the day I arrived in Bombay and has barely stopped since. I don't think I've even seen the sun here. As far as my hotel......this is what US $10 will get you in Bombay: 4th floor walk up, no A/C, a room that is barely large enough to fit one small single bed and a shared bathroom. Once I first checked in I wanted to leave and just pay a little extra somewhere else...but then I remembered that people live in worse conditions all over the world every day and it was time for me to stop acting like a dumb tourist. Besides, I'm on a budget and nothing is cheap here. Regardless, I'm really glad to be leaving today. The city is great, but for this trip it's not been so good to me.

On the bright side, I met an Italian expat living here who was really cool. He showed me around a bit and introduced me to a lot of his Indian friends. He has a German friend in Pune (where I'm headed next) who has a guesthouse and has offered to let me stay there for next to nothing. I'm off this afternoon by train to Pune, will arrive in the early evening. I have to interviews lined up with NGOs there.

It's hard to believe it has already been one month since I arrived in India. Time is flying by.

P.S. Sorry no photos, internet connection to slow to upload.


Advertisement



24th June 2008

sounds like fun:) Ok, maybe not so much, but seeing Ghandi's ashram must have been inspiring ... just wanted to let you know you're remembered this side of the pond (whichever pond) and that you're missed over here.

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb