The Thali Experience


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 17th 2008
Published: January 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ThaliThaliThali

mmm...
It's 9am. Do you know where your Kerman is? Mine is in bed. (See picture below) She’s gonna LOVE me for that one!

The 10 hour time change has taken a bit of getting used to. The first few days I would start to crash around 5pm. And even if I forced myself to sleep at a reasonable hour I would wake up in the middle of he night. Today I actually made it till 8! Wooo! My early rising, however, has provided ample time to blog!

Yesterday we had lunch with Kerman’s grandpa at Trishna, which is known for its delish food (YUMMO!) and mafia lore. The owner was apparently shot and killed right there in his restaurant! But alas, no gang violence whilst we were there. (Don’t worry mom it’s TOTALLY safe!) It was packed to the brim, mostly with tourists. It was fun to hear American accents again.

Then we continued shopping-palooza 2008. All these blurry pictures below are taken while swerving around busy Mumbai streets with K, her mom and her driver.

I also had my first Thali experience.

Thali, which in Hindi means plate, is an Indian meal with a bunch
ThaliThaliThali

K's embarrassed that I broke out the camera again. That's K's folks, and Kerry peeking out.
of different dishes, served in small bowls on a round tray. Typical dishes include rice, dal, vegetables, chapati, papad, yoghurt, small amounts of chutney or pickle, and a sweet dish to top it.

The idea is rather brilliant. It’s like tapas (small dishes) meets the Home Town Buffet (endless servings). They just keep piling on more food!





Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

ThaliThali
Thali

But she can't hide from me!
Sleepy KSleepy K
Sleepy K

Snoozy Q
holy cowholy cow
holy cow

K says if we feed it some special grass we can be blessed. (Wonder if that can translate to a Royal Flush?)
IsaacIsaac
Isaac

this crow is the bane of Kerman's existence. Every morning she screams at it and chases it away. And every day it returns to squawk at our window. I've named him.
TrishnaTrishna
Trishna

K's mom Taera and I after a huge meal.
TrishnaTrishna
Trishna

You can barely see the sign, but this is Trishna


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb