Please form an orderly queue for autographs


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, the travels are coming to an end, today we pack onto the Rajdhani Express which will whistle us back to Delhi in just 20 hours! From there we grab a bus back north and should be back with the monks in Tashijong by Sunday latest. It's been a lot of fun, we've seen some awesome places, done some amazing things, met some unforgettable people (well until I reach my parents' age, you lose everything then) and discovered some delicious foods. But now, read on for the final days spent in the glitz and glam of Mumbai...

My reputation (a B in GCSE drama) obviously preceded me to the capital of Bollywood; having checked into our guest house in the Colaba area, it was no less than one shower later that an indian guy knocked on my door to offer me my first role in a bollywood film. So, I checked my schedule, surprisingly free today and asked if Bhaarat could come along too (they were looking for white extras) - the answer, 'yes, we can pass him off as Spanish', sheer genius. The next thing I know we're rocking up at a big mansion where they're shooting that day on an island just off the coast with Dan from Manchester and two dutch girls. Lights, camera, action...

Actually if I'm honest most of the day was a bit boring, spent sitting around waiting to be called and then when we were called, sitting (or maybe even standing!) by the edge of the pool holding beers (alas just coke and water!) pretending to be at a swish London hotel. I'm not quite sure how they intend to pass it off as London, considering the palm trees and whatnot but hell, it's their movie. The girls had a slightly more interesting role; they had to live up to the Indian stereotype of western girls, i.e. skimpy bikinis, dancing in a shower by the pool with beers teasing one of the lead characters... nothing new there then.

Despite the heat and boredom we did get free food, paid 500 rupees, met some cool people and to be fair it was interesting and amusing (especially my 'costume' - I'll put up pics when I get the chance). In the evening we squandered our profits at Leopold's, Mumbai's most famous bar and cafe, a traveler's hangout and immortalised in the book Shantaram (soon to be a Johnny Depp film), before almost collapsing back at the hotel (n.b. a 16 hour day that had followed a sleepless night on a train).

Yesterday we spent wandering around checking out the city, from Colaba's bustling stalls to the chique malls of north Mumbai, and all the time failing to meet up with Uncle Colin. It was weird to be in the same city as him thousands of miles from home but be to busy to catch up! Oh well, I've probably seen enough of him in my life anyway! In the evening we strolled Chowpatty beach before dinner, as you must... avoiding the rancid water.

And now all is done and I'm really looking forward to getting back to the monastery, as awesome as these 5 weeks have been, nothing in India can beat the Tibetans and monks for friendliness and warmth. Not to mention it'll be nice to chill out back in the (relative) cool of the Himalaya.


Advertisement



27th June 2007

Gotta Job!!!
Well Andy its been a couple of weeks but have again caught up on your travels and career in movie stardom, good job you didn't go to Holland could have been a totally different story! Great to hear what a fantastic time you are having, I think to a man (well your Dad doesn't count) we are all jealous ~ you must be soooo looking forward to Uni? Keep well, glad you have enjoyed your birhday and looking forward to a drink when you get back. P.S If you Thierry Henry in your travels give him a kick from your Dad and me, your Dad needs a new shirt now.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb