Urban India and Bollywood action


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
January 15th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Gateway to IndiaGateway to IndiaGateway to India

This used to be the entry and exit point for many people to and from India - today it's a massive monument and meeting place by Mumbai harbour
At first sight Mumbai (alias Bombay) didn't seem as full-on and frentic as expected. But you only get to see a small part when you stay in Colaba, the part of town where most travellers stay. Only when I took the local commuter train I started realising what this city is about.
I had all my bags with me and got a seat so I thought I was fine. Only when people around me warned me it would be difficult to get off the train I was a bit worried. Two stops before getting off I tried to make my way through the crowds dragging my large backpack behind me. Once the train stopped as many people as where on the train where standing on the platform trying to get on. Somehow I managed to get to one side of the door and got flushed out with all my bags still in my hands while people where pushing and falling over on the platform. An experience not to be repeated.
Of course you get to see a lot of poverty too. Huts built with corrugated metal surrounded by mud that could be anything. A lot of the canalisation happens overground and that adds to a quite bad smell as well. Many people including children and families sleep on the streets. A beggar who put his arm stumps on my lowered cab window. But I was told conditions are much worse in North India....
At the same time Mumbai is the capital of Indian's film industry Bollywood. I had read about casting crews recruiting westerners as extras for films in Colaba but when I was asked to come along to a film studio for a night shooting I was a bit suspicious. Only when I met a few other fellow "actors" I convinced myself to come along.
The studio had a dessert camp feel to it. We were dressed up as Moguls (they invaded India centuries ago and had rather fair skin, that's why they wanted us) and had itchy beards put into our faces for a film called "Jod Akbar". Then the long wait started. It was great to watch the set but after a while it got quite chilly. And our scene didn't come up. Eventually it got too late and our scene was not shot on that day. It was a good experience though and we got paid 500
Bollywood actionBollywood actionBollywood action

Dressed up in Mogul costume for Bollywood action that never happened
Rupees! When they saw us taking pictures we were told to delete them all but I had put my camera away before that.
Yeah, and I finished off my trip in Mumbai. I was really happy having travelled in India without any stomach problems whatsoever for 3 weeks only be really sick on my last day. I guess that's part of the experience.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sunrise at Mumbai harbourSunrise at Mumbai harbour
Sunrise at Mumbai harbour

After returning from the film studios in the morning we were rewarded with this beautiful sunrise
Mumbai taxiMumbai taxi
Mumbai taxi

Taxis with roofs so low that you hit your head at every pothole
Cricket in Mumbai parkCricket in Mumbai park
Cricket in Mumbai park

Indians like cricket so much you could think they have invented the game


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb