Day 1 - Monday/Somwar - Sticking out like a sore Thums Up


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
August 28th 2006
Published: December 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

We landed in Mumbai, de-planed and I said goodbye to Ashis - he's going to be in Goa at the same time as me so we exchanged email addresses, and he's agreed to show me some night life - and I met Louise and Carly at baggage claim. We got our bags safe and sound, changed some money, and the co-ordinators for IDEX (our volunteer company) and Situ, a delightful British Indian girl I'd actually chatted to online. Situ and I shared an insane taxi journey through the Mumbai suburbs, at about 50mph on both sides of the road, round other vehicles, pedestrians and autorickshaws, with the driver practically sitting on the horn all the way - to speed up, slow down, overtake, signal, to say thanks, because he's been cut up, because he's happy, because he's bored - and then arrived in one slightly shaken piece at the Imperial Hotel.

We checked in and I found out I'm sharing a double room (yes, double) with a Greman guy called Kristian! I went to my room and he wasn't there, but I unloaded, had a shower and met the girls in the lobby. We were joined by Nikki, a shy but nice English girl, and the 5 of us headed off for a wander round the streets near the hotel. We were buzzed by autorickshaws a few times, the traffic here's mad, and got lots of stares - one white man, and four white girls with backpacks on, trailing through Mumbai suburbs, looked a little out of place! Mostly we were greeted by smiles and jokey remarks in Hindi from the adults, giggles from young girls and shouts of "Namaste!" from the boys. It was great, but I think the girls felt more Culture Shock than I did - especially at the live animals for sale, which they will kill for you if you wished, or you could Do-It-Yourself back home for that "just slaughtered" taste. Yum yum!

Came back to the hotel for lunch and met Kristian, his friend (and I found out later, ex) Juliana, and 3 other German girls whose names I cannot recall, but who are going home later today. Went to the net cafe with one of them - her name was Dana, I think? - to email back home that I'm here OK.

Returned to the room, had a bit of a lie down and then down to meet the girls. We were hoping to go out for the night, so asked the IDEX staff.
"Can you take us somewhere for dinner tonight, or recommend anywhere nearby?"
"No, sorry. Not from Mumbai"
"Do you have a map, or any information?"
"No, very sorry!"

Very useful! So we had dinner in the hotel, an Indian buffet, very nice. Then us 5 brits played cards, had a great night especially when, high as we were on the Indian Cola "Thums Up" (sic) (25%!s(MISSING)ugar, 5%!c(MISSING)affeine, 15%!a(MISSING)rtificial additives), Louise called the model on the front "Mohammed Hasselhoff". We fell about laughing. I guess you had to be there . . .

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb