Mumbai is


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Mumbai
October 30th 2018
Published: October 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

My guide picked me up at 0830 and we got on the 0845 boat to see the caves of Elephanta Island. It took 1h20 to get there and then there was a train and then there were 120 steps up to the caves past multiple little stands selling trinkets and food(just like pilgrimage sites everywhere). The caves on the island were (largely) cut by hand around 500 AD and feature scenes from the Hindu pantheon. The most famous one being the three-headed version of Shiva. It is indeed impressive and I think that the investment of time (4.5 hours) is worth it... barely. After lunch we drove through downtown Mumbai and my guide pointed out various landmarks. I got goosebumps when we visited the residence where Gandhi lived for 17 years. It was a thrill to walk the halls that he walked and to see his bed and desk and spinning wheels. After the guide dropped me at my hotel, I went for a walk along Marine Drive at sunset. I have been wanting to do that for years and I enjoyed the bright red sun, the many families, couples, and other locals who were also out, and the cool breeze coming off the Arabian Sea.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb