Beach Inspired


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Trivandrum
January 18th 2011
Published: January 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

002002002

Ayurvedic oil making
After being at the ayurvedic clinic for 13 days I was so ready to see the beach, and shop. I went with a friend from the clinic. We had so much fun. The ride was about 40 minutes, the driver was so thrilled to point out temples to us along the way. There are temples everywhere here. Shiva, Lakshimi, Ganesh, Hanuman. Every morning about 5:15am I am serenaded by beautiful flute music coming through the fields behind my room. The music inspires a spark in me to start my day and off I go to practice yoga and pranayama with the other ladies up stairs. I was pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the beach, the feeling it gave me of tranquility and vitality. It was very clean. There were men doing like a tug of war with a net it seemed, softly chanting. One thing I have to note after riding in the car about 4 times here so far...the drivers do NOT exhibit road rage, they do not get upset if anyone cuts them off, stops short etc. Which is quite refreshing, I found my self cursing instinctualy under my breath then quickly took it back as it seemed
005005005

Amazing beam of light, and cook:)
like such an act of un~kindness.
We walked on the beach into the waves, the water felt so good and refreshing, then headed to the shops. I had expected them to be a bit cheesy, yet to my surprise they were really high quality, much of the clothes hand made right there in the stores. If we had more time I could have been sized and fitted for many outfits😊 Luckily we did not have time. I did get some very nice pieces costing $6 or less. I will be leaving some of my clothes here at the clinic behind as they are now well oiled from the treatments. Being on the beach left me wanting more...beach and more of Kerala. Kerala has a very soft gracious divine sweetness to her and I am not ready to leave her. I had a flight booked to Chennai and was ready to leave in the am to do a 10 day silent Vipassana meditation retreat. Decided I will do the retreat at another time, apparently this is based on how Buddha attained enlightenment, ever since I heard about it this past summer it does sound amazing. I will still meditate and go to the beach...have some fun, enjoy the coast as I work my way north and hope to go on a houseboat, backwaters tour for a day if not several.
I do feel much better, stronger, able to breath deeper with out discomfort, able to exhale, sigh. I feel happy, content and full of courage for my next voyage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



20th January 2011

Hi Christine. It sounds like you are having the experience of a lifetime. I am thrilled to be able to read your blog and go along with you! The pictures are fabulous. We think of you often - Big Hugs
28th February 2011

Warm wishes
Pam, I can see you guys are getting so much snow! Actually makes me a bit sad:( I love snow! Hope you and Jim are great, and all is well with your family. xo

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb