Trivandrum


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Trivandrum
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's been a whirlwind in Trivandrum! We just got here yesterday and we're leaving tomorrow. We did house visits and a leader's meeting yesterday and today we went evangelizing, the HOPE computer school, lunch appointments, more house visits, and midweek service. Phil gave a lesson to the whole church and then we split up so Mitch & Laurel could do a married's lesson while Deb and I taught the singles about service. I got to give Tara's book to the most beautiful girl in Kerala, Valentina. We met her on our first visit and last time I really bonded with her. When I went to her house in 2007 they had our 2005 picture in their house. So now she and her dad are my best buds in Trivandrum. I'll post pictures when I can. I love this town and I think I remember more people here than any other city we've been in. It's been quite an encouragement to me and hope it has encouraged them. Phil's right leg is not really getting much better and the Ibuprofen mixed with the Malarone is taking it's toll on him. We'll just have to keep giving him as much rest as we can but please pray for him.
As for spiritual lessons, we learned of a new cost that must be counted by some of the disciples. In some areas, the government is offering reparations to the lower castes for past injustices. Unfortunately, these are only available if you are a practicing Hindu. We met two families whose children no longer get free education because their neighbors told the officials that they became Christians. Then they become worse than the lowest caste. It's just so foreign to think about that level of persecution. Not just from the neighbors but from the state. Say a prayer of thanks for your freedoms.
Love you all,
Ben

Advertisement



30th June 2009

Some food for my brothers & sisters...
Wow. Will definitely be in prayer (James 515) for Phil and the Reparation issue amongst the disciples. I can only imagine how tempting it must be to want to practice Hindu for the (worldly) benefits of receiving an education. Please encourage the disciples with Gen 25:27-34 and chpt 27...for them not to exchange their birthright for a bowl of stew as did Esau. These things happened as examples and were written down as warnings for us, on whom the fulfillment of the ages has come (1Cor10:11- I hope that wasn't stated out of context considering that Jacob was apart of Isreal's history). Please also encourage them to continue to desire wisdom, because it is more profitable than silver and yields better return than gold (Prov 3:13-14). Remind them that they are already blessed! Has not God chosen those who are poor in the eyes of the world to be rich in faith and to inherit the kingdom he promised those who love Him (James 2:5). Amen. Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he willl receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love Him (James 1:12). Besides, God knows their heart's desires. As long as they continue to truly delight themselves in Him, He will give them the desires of their hearts (Psm 37:4) and that's a promise! Love ya'll!
30th June 2009

Trivandrum
Dear Ben, Thanks for the insightful update. Your continuity of relationship - and having friends you remember from previous visits is the awesome thing about these visits. Its a little taste of heaven. I think it actually shows whether we really love people that we remmeber them, keep up with them and delight in their progress. Very challenging to hear about the costs of being a disciple in India... we in America need to complain a LOT less. I'm praying for "The Chief"... carrying his "cross" through India... Love Allan
30th June 2009

Will be praying for you guys still.
30th June 2009

You are all missed!
Hi Deb, Laurel, Mitch, Phil and Ben, Thanks so much for keeping all of us in the loop as to how things are going. I missed most of your first week posting because I was out of town and out of email touch but have rest the last few days. Wow!!! What a whirlwind tour you are all are doing! You are in my prayers! Debbie, I did the recycling this morning! Yeah!!! I miss you a ton, roomie! I'm off to d-group but I'll try to write again tomorrow. I love you all! Love In Christ, Julie
1st July 2009

Thanks for the reminder
Ben, I really appreciate your thoroughness when you give us an update on your daily adventures! You are definitely in the hearts of the family who has your photo on the wall! Once again, thank you for reminding us that we can easily take state/county privileges for granted (free education for our children)! I can't even imagine children not being able to get an education due to their faith in Jesus and the word of God! Christy
1st July 2009

wow
WoW, I guess I never considered what could happen if there were no separation of church and state back here in the UNited States. I think I take a lot of things for granted like having the freedom to worship Christ anywhere and anytime. Thanks for sharing. Tell Phil I am praying for him to get better. pearl
1st July 2009

Greetings
Greetings from Detroit. Praise God for the work that you are doing there. Sounds like an incredibly fast pace. I know God is pleased with your encouragement and teaching of the saints there. We are praying for you there and are inspired by your faith and perseverance. Keep up the great work and pray for all the saints everywhere. Love you guys. Lam 3:22-27 Laurie
1st July 2009

You are in our prayers
Dear Mission India 2009 team (Phil, Ben, Laurel, Mitch, Deb), It is always so good to hear from you! Thank you for your faithful posts; we have heard them at services as well. Thank you for the lessons and photos, updates and prayer requests. I'm sorry that I have not written you sooner. My mom-in-law (Paula) passed away two weeks ago after the 15-month battle with stage four cancer. Her fight was valiant. It has been a very difficult transition for my father-in-law and David. Amy turned 13 two days after her passing, so that was a challenge for her. We proceeded with the birthday/sleepover party with her 12 friends, but no one slept. They ran around the house all night, and after my final warning at 6 AM they took a nap before parents came to get them at 10 AM. Hmmm....Came back to work to finish month-end payroll and quarterly deadlines. Now I can exhale a bit. I am blessed to have my job! How tragic that disciples are being persecuted as well from the Indian government. If it offers any consolation, use Luke 6:20 "Looking at his disciples, he said: "Blessed are you who are poor, for yours is the kingdom of God." Keep the blogs coming. You are SUCH an encouragement to all of us! We love you! Miss you, and wish you the best of God's blessings throughout the remainder of your trip. Give our family there hugs on my behalf, please. YSIC, Jill
1st July 2009

Nothing new
Hi Family, Just thought I would say a quick hello before heading off to Midweek. I'm reading Hinds' Feet in High Places and am reminded of how pleased God is when we see ourselves the way He sees us. I know He is super pleased with your hearts and your sacrifice and He will continue to give you the strength and courage you need to do His will. I miss you all tons. Love In Christ, Julie

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 41; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb