India - Kollam, Kerala


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kollam
February 14th 2012
Published: February 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have had such a good day. We got a houseboat and spent the day on the backwaters around Kollam.

The boat was massive - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen and outside sitting area, so loads of space for me to crawl and walk around. There was only me, mummy, daddy, the driver and 2 cooks onboard. It was great!

After a couple of hours of sailing passed lots of jumping fish, trees, fishermen's housing, churches, mosques and Chinese fishing nets, we stopped for lunch. I think it's the best meal I've ever had!! Mummy and daddy said the same. There were LOTS and LOTS of dishes.

Then a couple more hours of sailing and we docked back at Kollam. Daddy gave the crew a tip each - 2 got rupees, the other a piece of paper by accident! Everyone laughed at daddy! He gave the man rupees in the end. It was such a nice day, it was so peaceful it didn't feel like India. We only saw a couple of other houseboats all day (I would say 3 or 4 if I could count). I got to spend time playing, eating and sleeping - all my favourite things!

This evening I made a new friend at the hotel. He took me on the swings and gave me a flower to hold. I tried to eat it but it didn't taste very nice, so I took the petals off!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb