Last day


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Kerala » Kochi
March 3rd 2017
Published: March 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Last day
Thursday afternoon we went for a two hour boat trip. A large amount of the coastal area forms a natural j Kochi and backwaters that run up the coast. Some party boats passed us blaring loud music so our skipper put his on, Michael Jackson and Village People, so Toni took her hearing aid out.
After that there was a trip to a shopping mall, which I decided not to go on as I was shopped out, and had no room in my suitcase, or money in my purse. Stephen and I had a meal at the hotel, then I repacked my suitcase, hoping to get everything in.
Apparently the mall was full of mostly western shops, but more expensive than in the UK, so I'm glad I missed it.
Friday we are taken to the basilica but unfortunately the basilica was ‘shut for adoration’ every first Friday of the month, so we all poked our cameras through the gate and took pictures. We drove through the old town full of spice shops still, as well as tourist shops selling Indian clothes, and ornaments to die for. Then it was the Dutch church, originally Portuguese, then the synagogue, then lunch and more stalls through the old Jewish quarter. I have enough money for lunch and dinner and about 300 rupees over to spend. A couple of bargains later (I find I'm not completely shopped out, and they're only small things) and I get Toni to sub me for half my lunch, and decide to pay for dinner tonight by card. Now my purse is completely empty.
Back to the hotel for another go in the pool. I am concious that I may not get any more warm sun till May.
This Aidcamp has been different - only two weeks instead of three, and the third week sightseeing. I've enjoyed it; I was told southern India is different from the north, and I have found it so. Before this trip I felt I wanted to come back to India to give it another chance; this time I feel I'll come back because there is so much to see and enjoy.
I'm hoping to get a few hours sleep this evening before some of us leave to get the 4.20 am flight to Bahrain.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0887s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb