A walk in the park (DL)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Shimoga
January 24th 2013
Published: January 24th 2013
Edit Blog Post

At 6:30am this morning, I went for a short walk with my host in a nearby park. It is quite new and named after Mahatma Ghandi. Apparently, taking a morning walk is a new concept. Local people pay 50 rupees per month to use the park, or 5 rupees per visit, which goes towards the park maintenance.

There were quite a few people out walking and jogging. There was also a group therapy class going on – a laughter club. I was curious about a gentlemen who was sitting on a bench clapping and my host told me that this was another form of therapy.

For children, there is an aquarium, a train ride, and all the usual things you would see in a playground ride back home.

Whilst I was wearing tracksuit bottoms and a T-shirt, the majority were wrapped up as if it was really cold, so I did get a few odd looks (although it could just have been because I was the only white person there!). It was a lovely park to walk in and I wish I had somewhere like this to walk round every day.

Di

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb