We rocked the conference! (TC)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Mangalore
January 26th 2013
Published: January 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Saturday 26 – Sunday 27 January 2013

It’s fair to say that we have been ‘Indianised’. When we first arrived in Mangalore everything was a shock to us. The food, the traffic, the noise and the litter. Now, we are back in the city and everything just feels like home. We don’t notice the noise or the litter anymore, the traffic feels calmer and we can’t wait to eat the Mangalore food and see some of our old friends!

We are back in Mangalore for the district conference. Although we got to relax and meet friends at the venue on Friday night, today was time for serious work as we had to present our experiences to over 3000 people. First though, we were able to listen to the rest of the guests and keynote speakers. Our own presentation went well and we covered what Rotary does in the UK, what we learned on our vocational days as well as our own personal highlights from the trip.

Also at the conference were a couple from Nottingham. They are Rotarians who have spent 10 weeks per year in India for the last six years. They have worked on projects totalling more than £500,000. It was really interesting to share our thoughts on India with them. And great to hear a British accent again! In the evening, after a long day, it was time for a cultural exchange, so while Angie went to watch some dancing, the rest of us showed the Indians some British Culture..........by singing on the karaoke and dancing to Gangnam Style!

Sunday was a chance to relax and perhaps overindulge. So we started the day with two breakfasts, just so that I had a chance to have my favourite food again, banana buns! After an afternoon of shopping for silks, wall hangings and other gifts, my Mangalore host Rupal picked me up to take me to a famous ice cream parlour called Bappas. The Chocolate Dad ice cream I had was fab! I also got a chance to see Dev and Rahul again and they both beat me at board games before we had a KFC. KFC is not like the KFC in the UK, it’s certainly Indianised!

Prakash, the bakery owner friend of Nicola's has invited Nicola and Emily for dinner and me, Rupal and Punit also go along. Prakash has what I would
Three wise men?Three wise men?Three wise men?

Devdas, Prakash and Punit
call a ‘party room’ in his home with a fantastic bar area which we can enjoy along with Prakash, his wife Keerthi and Devdas and his wife Rekha. We also had some fantastic Indian wine. I might be a convert! The other girls also wanted to try out KFC in India so I made my second trip of the day there. I think it’s time for a serious detox when I get home. The food here has been so amazing that I’m going to find my old diet at home very bland and boring. Luckily I have been given lots of recipes and ideas and I also picked up another cookbook in the mall. So if anybody wants to come round, its hands only, no cutlery!

Tracy x


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The ladiesThe ladies
The ladies

Rekha, Rupal and Keerthi


29th January 2013

KFC?
Remind me to buy some shares in KFC. Seems like you're all having a great time - hope you're learning lots to share with us when you get back - not long now..!!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb