Golden Temple - Bylakuppe Tibetan Refugee Settlement


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Madikeri
March 12th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The lovely Sonam Sherpa - my brotherThe lovely Sonam Sherpa - my brotherThe lovely Sonam Sherpa - my brother

He's trying to show off his muscles in this one!! :)
I went to visit Pema and Sonam at their Temple in Mysore and it was really great to see them again. Pema is a temple artist. He paints the beautiful images inside the temple. The picture I took of one of the paintings really doesn't do his work justice.
They also managed to wangle their way into the Dalai Lama's private residence area of the neighbouring temple, where the DL stays when he visits. It was very peaceful and calm. We gave offerings.

A place I definitely want to visit again, although next time I might get a proper permit as it's actually a restricted area so foreigners aren't meant to enter the settlement at all!! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Pema, another Lama and IPema, another Lama and I
Pema, another Lama and I

The other lama whose name I don't know, is the son of the lovely lady in Darjeeling who fed me tea and gave me a hot water bottle to keep me warm in her house.
Golden Temple - paintingGolden Temple - painting
Golden Temple - painting

One of the beautiful paintings inside the temple that Pema has painted
The three lamasThe three lamas
The three lamas

Sonam, Pema and the one whose name I don't know!


Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0987s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb