The LONGEST Day of my life


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
July 20th 2013
Published: July 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

The LONGEST day of my life

Who knew it was possible to experience one day for more than twenty-four hours???

Sounds impossible, but it can be done and I have lived it! I lived 30 hours of July 20, 2013. It started out in Bangalore, India and ended in Chicago, Illinois, USA.

Leaving was bittersweet. I enjoyed my time in India, but I missed the United States and the people I love back there. It was a nice experience to undergo and I am very glad I participated. I am very glad I went to the Taj Mahal and was able to successfully tour Delhi by myself and not get sold into the slave trade (I was so nervous for that…).

The people were phenomenal, so hospitable.

Just because the residency ended, doesn't mean the adventure did. When we left for the airport, it was almost midnight. The bus couldn't make it into the parking lot so we had to walk out to the busy street and load. This was also where we said goodbye to our WorldStrides chaperone – Cheten. We all got comfortable in our seats and I remember thinking to myself how dry my eyes were and so thankful I had taken out my contacts. I remember listening to others reflect about the experience. I thought I would just shut my eyes for a few moments (to lubricate them), but ended up falling asleep. I guess everyone pretty much crashed on the ride to the airport. Suddenly we were all awaken when the bus almost got hit by a water tanker on the expressway. By this time we were very near the airport, so I stayed awake the rest of the way. The other thing I remember thinking on the bus was how bright the lights were from the oncoming traffic in the other lane.

When we got to the airport, our luggage was unloaded and we said goodbye to our driver, Edward – phenomenal doesn't even begin to describe his driving skills, especially in the chaos we were exposed to!!! We also said goodbye to our navigator.

Before we could enter the airport, we had to show some sort of proof that we had a flight, so I showed them my printed receipt/ticket confirmation. I was one of the first who was waved through. And the security put me into a different line than my counterparts, who were waved to other lines. I got through before them and looked around and figured I would wait for them near the airline. But, someone from the airline saw me and must’ve figured I was loitering, so they brought me to the check in area for my airline. I got in the line for economy, but, then was asked to move to first class for my check in…I told the lady I was with a group, but she said, they’d be on their way and that I should check my bag. So, I did what she asked. I figured after I checked my bags, I would wait before going on to security and again, I ushered to the escalator for security. Enough was enough and I figured I would just have to catch up with the group at the gate. So, I went through customs and security quite smoothly. No waits or anything, just flew through them. When I go to the gate area, I looked around and there were still a bunch of people there waiting for the flight that was before ours, so I went back to the duty free area to wait for the gang. They were worried I got lost, so I sent the Program Manager a text that I was through and fine. It took some time, for them to catch up to me, so I am glad I didn’t wait. I am also glad I went on my own, because sometimes when in a group, it can cause security to be suspicious and I didn’t want to cause anything like that because I wanted to get home and get onto my next adventure.

My last few purchases were the India Barbie and a tuk-tuk – best part – they let me pay in $USD$!!! Did some reading and reorganizing. By the time it was time to board (around 2:30 am), I was tired. Even so, I still look a sleeping pill. Luckily, I was in a first row seat with extra leg room.

Landing in Germany was a great feeling – while it was not home, no longer were there gawks and stares as I walked through the airport. Here, I was not a creature from the nother world, but a normal person. It gave me a great sense of relief. And while I was relieved to be in the West, I really craved a shower, but I did the next best thing and freshened up in the bathroom. Thank goodness there was some time to kill. When we landed it was about 2 PM in Bangalore, 9 AM in Germany and 1 AM in the Midwest.



The flight from Germany to Chicago was more uncomfortable, but I think partly was due to the anxiousness of getting home and just wanting to be home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.03s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb