Vaayu


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Karnataka » Bangalore
July 29th 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Vaayu, or the God of Wind, might constitute the Cosmic Trinity in Hinduism, but in Bangalore it's the latest lounge bar. When my ex-roommate's husband dropped into town and we decided to meet up, I finally got the chance to check this place out for myself. The lounge is located on the 5th floor of the Eva Mall and has a wonderful view of busy Bangalore under the stars. As we entered we were pleased to note that we could sip our drinks and have a conversation without having to scream over loud music. I also noted that this was a place where all kinds of people came to relax and unwind. I saw a group of 20 somethings, a huge family, a couple still in their work formals, older people probably catching up with friends. I particularly liked the bonsai-like tree in the center.

A fun hour and a half later, we decided to have dinner at the restaurant a floor below. I suspect this was the Cafe Masala, but I'm not sure (will have to check next time). Good decision. They had a wide variety of starters (from soups to all kinds of salads) to a variety of vegetarian and non vegetarian dishes and an amazing collection of desserts. You can either choose and serve yourself or you can let the staff bring you the a selection from the variety they have. I'd say everything was good, nothing I can describe as 'mouth-watering' though. The dieter in me was happy with the salads. Not only did they taste good, but they were aesthetically done too! Because I was stuffed with a combination of starters and salad, I unfortunately could not taste all that the main course had to offer, however, seeing that I'm sitting here trying to recollect what it was that I had, I'd say that it wasn't anything remarkable.

The one thing that does stand out in my mind was the dessert. Maybe it was the deprivation brought about by the perennial diet that I'm on, or perhpas the dessert offerings were actually good, but I found the array of cakes, brownies, ice creams and fruits incredibly enticing. I decided to have a little of everything and my favorite were the chocolate brownies.







Another thing that stood out was the courtesy of the staff. When someone came up to our table for, like, the 6th time, I decided that they were genuinely concerned about our dining experience. Besides that, all of them were constantly smiling, jovial and that helped in contributing to the overall 'content' aura of the place. The decor was nice too, I particularly liked the interesting mural of bicycles, windows and dresses on the walls.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



5th August 2008

I agree, Vaayu is a great place to chill out with friends. Yup, the restaurant is Cafe Masala! never been there.But the desserts and appetizers look very welcoming! Brownies here I come! :P
6th August 2008

Wow! Nice ambience and decorÂ… Seems 'Vaayu' has to offer a wonderful dining experience and the food makes me dig into it right away. Do they have branches or its only a bangalore thing?
6th August 2008

I think it's currently only a Bangalore thing, but the BJN group might think of expanding to other cities as well!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb