Let me eat my words!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Jammu & Kashmir » Srinagar
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This will be quick. The past week has been such a treat in Kashmir. I'm really loving the family and life here. It's a pretty mellow/simple lifestyle. Most of it has to do with it being Ramadan right now. I said earlier that the sight of food was starting to make me sick...and indeed it has! Last week we got a new visitor from Japan, Tajma. He is really sweet but a little shy. We spent his first day touring the Mughal gardens. What a sight! We were able to see over all of Srinagar and the Dal lake. That night I started to get one of my famous migranes and as soon as my dinner was sat in front of me, I had to run to the bathroom. One of the uncles chased me and held my hair back and completely took care of me the rest of the evening.
I drank some tea and Baba gave me a winter husband (hot water bottle) and I went to sleep. I still wasn't feeling well the next day and stayed in bed and drank tea. Later in the afternoon, when Mama and Sana went to Mosque, I tagged along for the ride and to see the city a little more. As soon as we got there, I felt it coming again. All the exhaust was getting to me and my headache was at full force. I stand out enough as it is here, then add puking in the street in front of the heacily crowded mosque....not my finest moment. Oh well. I drank my weight in tea when I got home and went back to sleep.
I watched some American television that night and went to bed early. I woke up feeling much better!! My embroidery teacher came that afternoon. She is too cute for words and is far too patient for her own good. What takes her 10 minutes to do, takes me 2 hours. She sits with me for two hours everyday and watches my progress. I'm gaining caluses on my fingers, but I'm enjoying the work. It's tedious but I like it better than spinning thread!
I've had a lot of alone time here, which has been really good. I'm finding that I have a lot to deal with here. The Lord has been teaching me that my patience in him and with most every aspect of my life needs some improving.
I am so humbled by the hospitality here. Everyone is always going so far out of their way to make sure I'm alright and comfortable. I know we pride ourselves with Southern hospitality at home, but we can take a few lessons from the Kashmiri's!
Today is the last day of Ramadan, so I'll be sure to write again after the festival. I saw more Mughal gardens today...so beautiful and Lative took about 100 pictures of me. I'm so awkward with pictures alone, so hopefully they're not too bad.
I've loved hearing from everyone back home too, I finally got the phone to work here! I talked to my Mom early Sunday morning before church. It was Homecoming sunday at home, which made me a little sad. It's always one of my favorite days of the year. I got to talk to make a few more wake up calls too and it was so good to talk to those familiar voices. I thought it might make me sad hearing from everyone, but it gave me a quick boost from everyone I love.
I opened another letter from Kelly this morning. She has written and collected letters from friends for me so I have one to read every week. I love them so much..little reminders from home!
The desire to go home is starting to settle down and I'm starting to fall into a more routine life here and am getting used to things. I'm starting to get used to not understanding a word people are saying and the sound of cars beeping their horns.
I think I might try to go trekking in the Himalaya's soon. I feel that I'm too close to not go.
More will come soon when I have time to write! I'm very well taken care of here, so no need to worry!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



30th September 2008

Hi
Hi Moriah, It is great to hear of your adventures in India. So sorry to hear of you getting sick. We all will continue to keep you in our prayers and thoughts. Have fun! Peace and Love, Bill
1st October 2008

Trekking the Himalaya's
Do you have any idea how many people dream of doing what you are casually mentioning doing? Go, go and again I say GO!!! Then write and tell us all about it. I too am living vicariously through your stories. keep them coming. Glad you are feeling better. I'm so glad to know everyone is taking such good care of you. Thanks for the informing us of how hospitable everyone is, it's a good reminder for us to be that way with strangers as well as family. I love you, Mommy
1st October 2008

WOW
Hi Moriah, just got your blog info from your mom and read all of your posts. Everything sounds terribly exciting! I will look forward to reading more as you update. Be blessed!!~ Cathy in Tennessee
1st October 2008

drink more tea:>)
I love living my life through your adventures. We are so proud of you. I can't wait to see what you will be able to create with everything you have and will learn. Enjoy your life! Love all the Doggetts
3rd October 2008

Amazing!
Beloved Moriah....You have grown much in a very short period of time. I wondered about the food, and smells...Amazing! I am so very proud of you, and the depth I see in every word. You are truely becoming the young woman I have always known and watched growing before me. Himalayas?...You should go no matter what...you are becoming a Snow Leopard... I hold you in my heart....Love, Poppy
8th October 2008

Wonders of the World
Hi Moriah....Soak up all the living you can while there...Very unique opportunity...I am very proud of you....Stay the duration and learn everything you can...May there always be peace and acceptance in your heart....Live as they...I love you....
9th October 2008

Beautiful Ray of Sunshine
Cathy sent us your Blog and as I read your experiences, "WOW" and you learning how important smiles are, a language understood without words... Keep making memories and learn all you can...You have really grown with maturity. Sending you hugs, love and prayers. Grandma and Grandpa and "Fi-Fi".

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb