Trekking in the Himalayas


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh
March 25th 2008
Published: March 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Heya everyone.

I've returned from my very eventful trek in the Himalayas. As the air was so thin I really struggled to breathe on the way up and I suffered mountain sickness. It was a very odd feeling being exhausted just by walking a few metres. I made it to 2800 metres while some of the group carried on up to 3200m. The view from my end point was still spectacular though and I have many pics to show you all. I've seen the sun set, the moon rise and the sun rise on the Himalayas, amazing.

The trip down was also interesting as I went over my ankle twice, I had to steal the stick from our guide to help me down. At least I refused the horse down and did it all myself.

In McLeod Ganj, the starting point of our trek and the home of the Dalai Lama, I saw a demonstration march by buddist monks campaigning against Chinese occupation of Tibet singing and holding candles. It was amazing to see and again overwhelming.

Back to work this week on easter Monday, which is hard knowing that Britain has the day off but hey, at least we had Friday off. Friday was Holi here and we all ended up covered in various colours completely ruining my outfit. It was great fun though and I'm very glad I was part of it. Pics are good and I'll show you them later.

xx

Advertisement



29th March 2008

well done
well done on the trek, your gran and grandad are asking for you
9th April 2008

WOOHOO!
Congrats on making it 2800m! Hope all good with you and no more stomach cramps or worse....DEHLI BELLY.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb