Week 2 - arrived in McCleod Ganj this morning.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
December 15th 2011
Published: December 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Dharamsala at twilightArriving in Dharamsala at twilightArriving in Dharamsala at twilight

This was this morning at the McCleod Ganj bus platform overlooking Dharamsala as I got off the bus.
I arrived in McLeod Ganj at twighlight this morning. Made it in under 12 hours (and seemed less). Pulling into Dharamsala at night with the lights and the moon was fantastic.

I arrived at the bus terminal up the road in McLeod Ganj, the largely Tibetan settlement of Dharamsala and was just mobbed by would-be "friends" and wanna-be porters. "My friend, my friend." Yeah, I'm your "friend" if I give you my rupees. Not.

I'm glad I made it as there was a little bit of a fiasco concerningmy bus ticket yesterday. After checking out of my room, I queried about my ticket. The Tibetan morning hostes showed my I was ticketed for yesterday the 13th. I was in a dilema. I'd already checked out of my room, and the hotel was full (my room spoken for). Then it made sense why she called me yesterday asking if I was checking out. They called the reservations office, and said the bus last night was full, but I could sit in the cabin (on a seat behind the driver). Fine, just get me there. The accessed a Rs. 300 surcharge for this though ($6.00), but I already received a discount
Twighlight in DharamsalaTwighlight in DharamsalaTwighlight in Dharamsala

good to be back in the mountains, and out of Delhi. Beautiful dawn sky, which is more then I can say for Delhi.
on my ticket at Rs. 600.00 ($12.00), so $18.00 is still a screaming deal. As my friend Ven. Jomphel from Namgyal Monastery (His Holiness The Dalai Lama's personal monastery) said last night somewhere in Punjab country, "this is India" taking the words right out of my mouth.

My friend Tenzin back in Delhi told me of four guest houses I should try on the main road. Snow Lion was booked, and on my way to find the next options a Tibetan couple walked by and offered to help me. The proprieter of the hotel behind me shouted he had a room for me for Rs. 250.00 a night - PERFECT! I was expecting Rs. 300 - 450.00 for basic accomidation. So I'm staying here at Hotel Akash, which means sky in Arabic. It's run by a Kashmiri family. The proprieter was very gracious, and said "just get some sleep, you can check in later." Sleep I did.

Now off to explore more of McCleod Ganj. The Himalayas were breathtaking. Amazing to think that just east beyond them lies Tibet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Himalayas!Himalayas!
Himalayas!

Just over this Tibet!
View from my hotel street side View from my hotel street side
View from my hotel street side

Early morning, some people already about.
My roomMy room
My room

The bed was quite comfortable. This was better than I expected for a monk and Rs. 250.00 ($5.00) - but it is in the basement, no view, and it's very chilly. All that of which doesn't matter and I can compensate for, the view for one by going outside.


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb