Hangin with His Holiness (I wish)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Himachal Pradesh » Mcleod Ganj
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Life in McLeod Ganj March 26th-April___

I’ve been in McLeod Ganj since March 26th. Originally I planned to chill out here and do some volunteering until some of the treks I wanted to do in Uttarakhand opened up. McLeod Ganj is near Dharamsala, in Himachal Pradesh. It is the location of the Tibetan government in exile and the site of His Holiness the Dalai Lama’s residence. A large percentage of the town is Tibetan. There are also lots of foreigners hanging out here volunteering, or teaching or taking yoga, massage, or reiki courses. It’s a beautiful mountain setting and the air is clean and sweet. Every morning I can see snow-topped peaks and thousands of butterflies blow through town on the spring breeze.


In McLeod Ganj it’s possible to forget you are in India, which is not like a good thing or anything- just an observation.


I have never done such a load of nothing in all my time traveling and it’s been lovely. So far the extent of my volunteering has been doing conversation classes with Tibetans and tutoring a couple Tibetans on the side.


I am currently living at the Geden Choeling nunnery, in a very cozy, clean, and warm guest room for next to nothing. I always see the nuns studying or chanting or praying and a few days ago I saw them practicing their debating skills outside.




Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



8th April 2009

That thenthuk looks tasty! Yo quiero!

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb